Phar Lap Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Phar Lap Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Phar Lap Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Phar Lap Stakes.

The Phar Lap Stakes is a Group 2 race for three year olds and is run under set weight conditions. This 1500 meter event is held every year by the Australian Turf Club at Rosehill Racecourse in March.

Scheduled during the Autumn Racing Carnival, the race offers a prize worth $200,000. The Phar Lap Stakes is usually scheduled on the same day as the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Classic and the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes.

Named after probably the most famous horse and a symbol of Australian horse racing, Phar Lap, the stakes was established in 1985 in honour of the only horse in history to be the favorite in three successive Melbourne Cups. He won thirty seven of his fifty one starts and four of these thirty seven wins came on continuous days during the Flemington Spring carnival in 1930, which included the Melbourne Cup.

The Phar Lap Stakes usually finds more talented gallopers, mainly due to the level weight conditions of the event.

The event is usually won by a more than handy galloper, rather than a top-liner. The set weight conditions offer the most talented horses the advantage and the winner most often than not, will certainly compete in the Group 1 events later in the year.

This race has proven to be a good guide to the upcoming group races, meant for three year olds. Horses from here go on to compete in a number of events ranging from the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap to the Group 1 ATC Australian Derby.

Recent winners of the event have been Blackie in 2011, Tickets in 2010 and Heart of Dreams in 2009. Some of the winners who have done well for themselves in recent years are Tickets in 2010, Heart Of Dreams in 2009, Apache Cat in 2006, and Arlington Road in 2002.

Year Phar Lap Stakes Winners
2020 Funstar
2019 Verry Elleegant
2018 Unforgotten
2017 Foxplay
2016 Hattori Hanzo
2015 Winx
2014 Traitor
2013 Toydini
2012 Colorado Claire
2011 Blackie
2010 Tickets
2009 Heart of Dreams
2008 Acey Ducey
2007 Just Mambo
2006 Apache Cat
2005 Shania Dane
2004 Only Words
2003 Thorn Park
2002 Arlington Road
2001 Maitland Gold
2000 Lord Essex
1999 Mr. Innocent
1998 Northern Drake
1997 Monet's Cove
1996 Encores
1995 Brave Warrior
1994 Arborea
1993 Kaaptive Edition
1992 My Wanderin' Star
1991 Be Happy
1990 Solar Circle
1989 Flight Schedule
1988 Marwong
1987 Merry Ruler
1986 Periscope
1985 Prince Frolic
1984 Mr. Ironclad
1983 Northern Reward
1982 Calm Joe
1981 Private Thoughts
Trench Digger
1980 Blue Dane
1979 Fralo
1978 Luskin Star
1977 Blockbuster
1976 Cheyne Walk
1975 Knight Reign
1974 Imagele
1973 Toltrice

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers