Gloaming Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Gloaming Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Gloaming Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Gloaming Stakes.

The Gloaming Stakes hosted by the Australian Turf Club at the Rosehill Racetrack in September during the spring racing carnival is a Group 3 open race for three year olds. Prize money for the race is worth $200,000.

Some of the classiest milers and stayers make their way to the Gloaming Stakes in search of greater glory during the spring racing carnival in Melbourne.

The 1800 meter race is run under set weight conditions that usually favours more than handy staying types.

Other races held on the day are the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes, the Group 2 Shannon Stakes, the Group 3 Research Stakes and Group 3 Colin Stephen Quality.

The race is an excellent warm up event for the 2000 metre Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes at Randwick during the carnival. The Gloaming Stakes has over the last few years become a handy guide for the WS Cox Plate with So You Think proving his ability as a stayer in 2009, winning both the titles during the season.

Some horses may move on to compete in the Group 2 Norman Robinson Stakes over a distance of 2000 metres on the Caulfield race track. Pendragon in 2005 and Retrieve in 2010 scored a Gloaming Stakes/Robinson Stakes double.

In 2010, Retrieve and placegetter Praecido both placed well in the Group 1 Victoria Derby at Flemington over an extended distance of 2500 metres. Placegetters in the Gloaming Stakes have also done well in the Spring Champion Stakes, which include All Black Gold in 2006 and Gathering in 2009. Runner up in 2006, Tuesday Joy improved on her performance with a victory in the Group 2 Wakeful Stakes and ran an impressive second in the Group 1 Crown Oaks.

Earlier in 2005, Duelled, placed third in the Gloaming Stakes, ran third in the Spring Champion Stakes and followed it up with a major victory in the 2040 metre Group 2 AAMI Vase at the Moonee Valley track. The spirited stayer fought a tough battle in the Victoria Derby to finish a close second behind Benfico.

The 1600 meter Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes may serve as a warm up race for horses heading for the Gloaming Stakes. Strike the Stars, placed third in the event prior to claiming the 2011 Gloaming Stakes.

The first Gloaming Stakes was held as a principal race in 1978 and was immediately awarded Group 2 status the next year, which was won by the famous Kingston Town. It has remained a Group 3 race since 2005.

Other top gallopers to win the Gloaming Stakes include Brave Warrior in 1998, Al Maher in 2004, and Predatory Pricer in 2008.

Year Gloaming Stakes Winners
2020 Love Tap
2019 Shadow Hero
2018 Thinkin' Big
2017 Ace High
2016 Veladero
2015 Vanbrugh
2014 Sweynesse
2013 Complacent
2012 It's A Dundeel
2011 Strike The Stars
2010 Retrieve
2009 So You Think
2008 Predatory Pricer
2007 not held
2006 All Black Gold
2005 Pendragon
2004 Al Maher
2003 Tsuimai
2002 Maskerado
2001 Courvoisier
2000 Go Bint
1999 Fairway
1998 Arena
1997 Tie The Knot
1996 Magic Of Sydney
1995 Classy Fella
1994 Brave Warrior
1993 Constant Flight
1992 Air Seattle
1991 Big Dreams
1990 Lord Revenir
1989 Stargazer
1988 Run Straight Run
1987 Sky Chase
1986 Drought
1985 Handy Proverb
1984 Phillip
1983 Sir Dapper
1982 Grosvenor
1981 Best Western
1980 Cosmic Planet
1979 Kingston Town
1978 Kapalaran

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers