Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Golden Slipper Stakes 2023 Tips, News, Winners and Past Results

Golden Slipper Stakes is a Group 1 race held at Rosehill Racecourse over 1200 metres annually. Prize money for the event is worth $3,500,000

Winners, Past Results and History for the Golden Slipper Stakes

The Golden Slipper Stakes contested by the best two-year-old Australian thoroughbred horses at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in Sydney is undoubtedly one of the richest events in its category.

2023 Golden Slipper Stakes Information

Date Of The Golden Slipper Stakes: 18/3/23

Time Of The Golden Slipper Stakes: TBA

Venue For The Golden Slipper Stakes: Rosehill Racecourse

How To Live Stream The Golden Slipper Stakes

To live stream the Golden Slipper Stakes, Sign Up To TAB and watch the race for free.

How To Bet On The Golden Slipper Stakes

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Golden Slipper Stakes: Ladbrokes

My 2023 Golden Slipper Stakes Betting Tips

1. TBA

2. TBA

3. TBA

More Details About The Golden Slipper Stakes

The Group 1 race hosted by the Australian Turf Club is run over a distance of 1200 meters under set weight conditions. The Golden Slipper Stakes is held on the first Saturday in April during the autumn racing carnival. Punters have a great day to look forward to with four other Group 1 races which include the George Ryder Stakes, Queen of the Turf Stakes, Storm Queen Stakes and The BMW.

Prize money worth $3.5 million is at stake in the Golden Slipper Stakes with the classiest sprinters on the Australian turf coming under the starter's orders.

Horses, jockeys, trainers and owners have all contributed the Golden Slippers illustrious history with many making it to the Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup. Leading up to the Golden Slipper are the Pago Pago Stakes and the Todman Stakes for colts and geldings, and the Reisling Stakes are lead up races which punters ought to use as a form guide. The Magic Night Stakes for fillies is another race that has the top two year old fillies warm up for the Golden Slipper Stakes.

In addition, winners of these races are exempt from ballot for the Golden Slipper. 2011 Golden Slipper winner, Sepoy, came into the race with a major victory in the Todman Stakes.

Golden Slipper Stakes winners usually move on to greater success during their career as sprinters or middle distance runners. The Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes held at Flemington on Derby Day and the Group 1 WS Cox Plate at the Moonee Valley track are among the major races that top performers in the Golden Slipper may head for during the season.

Runner up in 2009, Headway won the Coolmoore Stud Stakes while third placed Manhattan Rain ran a close second in the Cox Plate in the same year. Over the years, males seem to get the better of the females with 12 winners over the last two decades. The two horses to win the Sweet Embrace Stakes/Golden Slipper double are Ha Ha in 2001 and Crystal Lily in 2010.

The Golden Slipper was initiated by committeeman of the Sydney Turf Club, George Ryder with the first winner being Todman in 1957. Jockey Shane Dye steered four horses to the winning post between 1989 and 1992, equaling jockey R. Quinton's record between 1982 and 1987. Trainer Bart Cummings and late TJ Smith have each saddled six winners.

Golden Slipper Stakes Past Winners

2021Stay Inside
2017She Will Reign
2010Crystal Lily
2009Phelan Ready
2006Miss Finland
2004Dance Hero
2003Polar Success
2002Calaway Gal
2001Ha Ha
2000Belle Du Jour
1995Flying Spur
1993Bint Marscay
1990Canny Lad
1988Star Watch
1986Bounding Away
1985Rory's Jester
1983Sir Dapper
1981Full On Aces
1980Dark Eclipse
1979Century Miss
1977Luskin Star
1975Toy Show
1972John's Hope
1971Fairy Walk
1968Royal Parma
1967Sweet Embrace
1966Storm Queen
1964Eskimo Prince
1963Pago Pago
1962Birthday Card
1961Magic Night
1960Sky High
1959Fine And Dandy

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Place a TOTE win bet on Races 1-6 at 3 Tracks, run 2nd or 3rd, get up to $50 back in Bonus Bets!
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. First Tote win bet placed online. See promotions page for full T&C ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers