Queensland Guineas Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Queensland Guineas run at the Eagle Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Queensland Guineas

Winners and Past Results for the Queensland Guineas.

The Queensland Guineas held at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane during the winter racing carnival has a handy group of three year old horses seeking to prove their ability to conquer the mile and take advantage of the set weight conditions.

Brisbane Racing Club offers prize money worth $400,000 in this Group 2 race held on the same day as other major Group 1 races including the Queensland Derby, The TJ Smith and Stradbroke Handicap in June. The Eagle Farm track usually has a field of handy milers who haven't yet proved their mettle over longer distances or proved their ability to do so.

Over the years some of the most impressive milers have won the Queensland Guineas which include Triscay in 1991, Paris Lane in 1994, Yippyio in 1997 and Turffontein in 2008. One of the most popular horses in Australia to win the Queensland Guineas during a successful career was Yippyio in 1997.

Horses may make their way from several other 1400 and 1600 metre races which include Group 3 races such as the Gunsynd Classic held at the Eagle Farm Racecourse and the Fred Best Classic at Doomben Racecourse.

Others may find their way from the Doomben 10,000 held at the Doomben track in May while some handy milers may come in from the 1400 Group 3 Gold Coast Guineas held at the end of May. The set weight conditions of the race generally favour the better performing gallopers although there has been a mixed bag of winners over the years.

The Group 3 Lord Mayor's Cup held over the same distance at Doomben at the end of May is often a handy form guide since a few horses choose this path as a lead up to the Guineas. 2010 Queensland Guineas champion, Rothesay, came into the event after an impressive victory in the Lord Mayor's Cup. Some horses may go for a spell after Queensland Guineas and return fresh in August or September during the spring carnival while others may opt for other listed races before major events the following spring.

The Queensland Guineas began as a principal race in 1896 and remained so until 1979 when it was granted Group 3 status by Brisbane Racing Club. The race attracted a field of classy milers which ultimately led to the Queensland Guineas becoming a Group 2 event in 1988.

Year Queensland Guineas Winners
2020 Race Not Held
2019 Kolding
2018 Sambro
2017 Salsonic
2016 Tsaritsa
2015 Jabali 
2014 Sir Moments
2013 Sizzling
2012 Pear Tart
2011 Torio's Quest
2010 Rothesay
2009 Express Air
2008 Turffontein
2007 Sequential Charm
2006 Nova Star
2005 Saxon
2004 Winning Belle
2003 True Glo
2002 Regent Street
2001 Heroism
2000 Magnifier
1999 Camarena
1998 Insecure
1997 Yippyio
1996 not held
1995 Turridu
1994 Paris Lane
1993 Cuidado
1992 Coolong Road
1991 Trisca
1990 Solar Circle
1989 Cole Diesel
1988 Planet Ruler
1987 Magic Flute
1986 Persian World
1985 Phoenix Rising
1984 Vite Cheval
1982 Star Of Te Knight
1981 Bermuda Bird
1980 Cloud Pink
1979 Zephyr Zip
1978 He'll Do
1977 Bay Duke
1976 Night Charmer
1975 Gentle Jim
1974 Spinnelli
1973 Dalrello
1972 Beau Cera
1971 Charlton Boy
1970 Waminda
1969 Paola Pisani
1968 Flying Ace
1967 Dual Control
1966 Lord Kearsey
1965 Maybe Lad
1964 Rocky Court
1963 Confidence
1962 Persian King
1961 Ivanhoe
1960 Royal Bore
1959 Countwood
1958 Earlwood
1957 Neptunist
1956 Book Link
1955 Aboukir
1954 Cool Gent
1953 Kev Mar
1952 Kashmir
1951 Friar's Frolic
1950 Coniston
1949 Mr. Sunray
1948 Blue Slipper
1947 Sefiona
1946 Maytown
1945 not held
1944 not held
1943 not held
1942 not held
1941 Felt Yet
1940 Bold Step
1939 Spearace
1938 Seven Fifty
1937 Spear Chief
1936 Brownfelt
1935 Auto Buz
1934 Pandion
1933 Soft Step
1932 Some Cure
1931 Lough Neagh
1930 Irish Smile
1929 Bernfield
1928 Hourly
1927 High Syce
1926 Chryso
1925 Taupo
1924 Mountain Song
1923 Ardglen
1922 Kingslot
1921 Ladomond
1920 Syceonelle
1919 Eudor Furly
1918 Molly's Robe
1917 Master Warkon
1916 Lord Acre
1915 Irish Colleen
1914 Delinacre
1913 Lord Burnside
1912 Koatanui
1911 Yeena Lad
1910 Havocorn
1909 Mischief
1908 Flaxen
1907 Euroa
1906 Headlight
1905 Alexis
1904 Joyance
1903 Fitz Grafton
1902 Balfour
1901 Grattan
1900 Araxes
1899 Lauri
1898 Boreas II
1897 Boscobel
1896 College Cap
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers