Doomben 10000 Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Doomben 10,000 run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Doomben 10,000

Winners and past results for the Doomben 10000.

Doomben 10000. The Brisbane Racing Club hosts the Doomben 10,000 every year in May during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

The Group 1 event is held at the Doomben Racetrack in Brisbane with horses taking advantage of the weight for age conditions over 1350 meters.

The race has witnessed some of the classiest sprinters bag prize money worth $750,000.

Included in the race card on the day of the Doomben 10,000 is the Group 3 Premier's Cup and Grand Prix Stakes. The event suits better performing sprinters with many making their way from the Group 1 BTC Cup held a fortnight earlier on the same track. Recent winners of the BTC Cup/Doomben 10,000 double include Apache Cat in 2008 who almost repeated the feat in 2009. While he won the Doomben 10,000 for the second year in a row, the wily sprinter finished second in the BTC Cup. Earlier in 2007, Takeover Target was runner up in the BTC Cup before beating Gold Edition to the post in the Doomben 10,000.

Other notable sprinters to win the Doomben 10,000 are Chief De Beers in 1995-98, Falvelon in 2001-02, Prince Triala in 1990-91, and Black Onyx in 1969-70. Included in the list are Bernborough in 1946, Manikato in 1979, and Bel Esprit in 2003. Among the major sprint races that successful horses may fancy their chances after the Doomben 10,000 are the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap and the Winter Stakes at Eagle Farm. Runner up in 2009, Black Piranha scored a convincing win in the Stradbroke Handicap. Melito placed well in the BTC Cup, Doomben 10,000 and Stradbroke Handicap before storming the tracks in the Group 1 Winter Stakes.

The Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes at Morphettville in Adelaide is a warm up even for horses heading for the Doomben 10,000. 2011 champion, Beaded, was runner up in Sangster Stakes before winning the Doomben 10,000.

Interestingly, no filly has stamped their authority on the race while only five mares have crossed the finishing post first since its inception. Punters may note that only four favourites have obliged in the past two decades. Jockey Corey Brown steered two horses to victory in the Doomben 10,000, which were Apache Cat in 2008 and Beaded in 2011. Prior to winning the 2010 Doomben 10,000, Hot Danish won the Group 1 All Aged Stakes over 1400 meters at Randwick and then continued her fine form in the Group 2 Premiere Stakes over 1200 meters at Rosehill in September and the Group 2 Lexus Stakes in October.

The Doomben 10,000 originally named the Doomben Newmarket Handicap and then later the TM Ahearn Memorial but in mid 1940 was changed to its current name with the 10,000 pounds prize money at that time making it the richest sprint race in Australia.

Year Doomben 10,000 Winners
2020 Cancelled
2019 The Bostonian
2018 English
2017 Redzel
2016 Music Magnate
2015 Boban
2014 Spirit Of Boom
2013 Epaulette
2012 Sea Siren
2011 Beaded
2010 Hot Danish
2009 Apache Cat
2008 Apache Cat
2007 Takeover Target
2006 Undue
2005 Red Oog
2004 Super Elegant
2003 Bel Esprit
2002 Falvelon
2001 Falvelon
2000 Mr. Innocent
1999 Laurie's Lottery
1998 Chief De Beers
1997 Accomplice
1996 Suntain
1995 Chief De Beers
1994 Flitter
1993 Unequalled
1992 Barrosa Boy
1991 Prince Trialia
1990 Prince Trialia
1989 Potrero
1988 Campaign King
1987 Broad Reach
1986 Between Ourselves
1985 Lord Ballina
1984 Getting Closer
1983 My Axeman
1982 Ideal Planet
1981 Sovereign Red
1980 Hit It Benny
1979 Manikato
1978 Blue's Finito
1977 Maybe Mahal
1976 Burwana
1975 Spedito
1974 Charlton Boy
1973 Craigola
1972 Bengalla Lad
1971 Baguette
1970 Black Onyx
1969 Black Onyx
1968 Gay Gauntlet
1967 Bourbon Beau
1966 Pterylaw
1965 Winfreux
1964 The Tempest
1963 Tipperary Star
1962 Red Smoke
1961 Aquanita
1960 In Love
1959 Second Earl
1958 Grey Ghost
1957 Teranya
1956 El Khobar
1955 Apple Bay
1954 Nagpuni
1953 True Leader
1952 Highlea
1951 Coniston
1950 Rim Boy
1949 Ungar
1948 Murray Stream
1947 Highstrung
1946 Bernborough
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers