Fred Best Classic Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Fred Best Classic run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Fred Best Classic

Winners and Past Results for the Fred Best Classic.

Fred Best Classic, formerly known as the BTC Classic, is hosted by the Brisbane Racing Club. It is a open Group 3 event for 3 year old horses held under set weight conditions over a distance of 1350 metres.

The race is held at the Doomben race track in May in Brisbane, Queensland during the Brisbane winter racing carnival on one of the biggest days, Doomben Cup Day. The winner takes home prize money worth $125,000. The 2011 Fred Best Classic was clinched by Falino from Spirit Of Boom and Skilled, who held on to third place.

The Fred Best Classic has been held under several names since the inaugural race in 1988. It was then known as the Ajax Stakes, won by a horse named McGintys Crown, who clocked a time of 1:19.1 under set weight conditions. The fastest time recorded till now in the Fred Best Classic is 1:17.5 by Gold Edition in 2007.

In its earlier days, it was popularly known as the BTC Classic but in 2009 its name was changed to Brisbane Racing Club (BRC) after the merging of the Brisbane Turf Club (BTC) and the Queensland Turf Club (QTC). However, it was again renamed to its present Fred Best Classic. Apart from the prestigious Group 1 Doomben Cup, The Fred Best Classic shares the day with other popular group events like the Group 2 Champagne Classic, Group 3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes, Group 3 Doomben Roses, Group 3 Lord Mayors Cup and Group 3 BRC Sprint.

Those 3 year old gallopers who had earlier participated in the Group 2 Gold Coast Guineas at the Gold Coast Racecourse usually take part in the Fred Best Classic. El Cambio, winner of the 2008 Fred Best Classic and Gold Edition, winner in 2007 both had earlier participated in Gold Coast Guineas and won the event before trouncing tough opposition in the Fred Best Classic. The next target for the 3 year old gallopers is the Group 2 Queensland Guineas held at the Eagle Farm track in June.

Some recent notable winners of the Fred Best Classic include Falino in 2011, Stryker in 2010 and Court in 2009. Other wily sprinters to win include Ferragamo, Staging, Gallieni, and La Montagna.

Year Fred Best Classic Winners 
2021Apache Chase
2020Dawn Passage
2019Military Zone
2013Platinum Kingdom
2008El Cambio
2007Gold Edition
2006La Montagna
2003Proudly Agro
1999Mr. Innocent
1997Crafty Beau
1996Proud Player
1995Chief De Beers
1993Affirmed Star
1992Social Rule
1989Spot The Rock
1988not held
1984Bonne Princess

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers