Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Lord Mayors Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Lord Mayor's Cup run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Lord Mayors Cup

Winners and Past Results for the Lord Mayor's Cup.

Brisbane Racing Club plays host to the Lord Mayors Cup, a Group 3 race for horses three years old and over at Doomben Racecourse during the winter racing carnival. The 1600 metre race is a weight for age event with $125,000 reserved for the winner.

Other major races of the day include the Group 3 Premiers Cup and Group 3  Fred Best Classic, among others. Some of the three year olds may fancy their chances in the Lord Mayors Cup after a run in the Group 3 Chairman's Handicap at the same track, which is often a good warm up race held a fortnight earlier.

Weight for age conditions favour the more than handy types who have the ability to travel the mile and beyond. Notable horses have gone on to win several other Group races including the Caulfield Cup, a feat managed by Sky Heights in 2001. Runners in the event may head to Eagle Farm Races for a shot at the Group 2 PJ O'Shea Stakes over 2400 metres on Oaks Day. Rampant Lion managed to score in both events in 2009 while Head Turner also achieved the feat earlier in 2007.

Other horses may look for an entry in the Group 2 Queensland Guineas held at Eagle Farm. Rothesay managed to win both the events in 2010. The 1400 M Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes held at Eagle Farm is also another follow up race with 2011 runner up in the Lord Mayors Cup, St. Germaine, finishing fifth in the event. The 1800 M Group 2 Hollindale Stakes held at the Gold Coast track may also have a few contestants heading for the Lord Mayors Cup.

The inaugural event, known as the BATC Labour Day Cup, was held in 1979 as a principal race. It was granted Group 3 status in 2000 and has been run under its present name since 2005. Mares with a 2 kg advantage are the ones to look out for in the Lord Mayors Cup even though they may not have produced outstanding results in their earlier runs. Often, the race has a small field.

YearLord Mayor's Cup Winners
2020Race Not Held
2019Order Again
2018Duca Valentinois
2017Col 'n' Lil
2016Mighty Lucky
2015Strawberry Boy
2014Angel Of Mercy
2009Rampant Lion
2008Rum Dum
2006Cog Hill
2004This Manshood
2001Sky Heights
1999Joss Sticks
1998Only A Lady
1997not held
1996not held
1994Tusk Hunter
1993Coolong Road
1992Cool Credit
1990Red Chiffon
1988Miss Stephenson
1987Stars Are Easy
1986Just Now
1985Our Compromise
1984Concord Stage
1983not held
1982Keep Safe
1981Sovereign Khan
1980Our Cavalier
1979Pay The Purple

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers