Royal Sovereign Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Royal Sovereign Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Royal Sovereign Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Royal Sovereign Stakes.

Hosted by the Australian Turf Club during the autumn racing carnival in April, the Royal Sovereign Stakes is a Group 2 race for three year old colts & geldings under set weight conditions.

Horses travel over a distance of 1200 metres of the Randwick Track in Sydney for a chance to earn prize money worth $600,000.

The set weights plus penalties conditions favours better performing sprinters seeking to move up in group racing during the rest of the year. Other features of the day include the Group 1 Sydney Cup, Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Australian Oaks.

The race has been claimed by a number of top-line gallopers over the years with Shaftesbury Avenue winning in 1990, Danewin in 1995, Assertive Lad in 2001 followed by Lonhro the next year, Exceed And Excel in 2005, and Shoot Out in 2010.

Acamar won the first Royal Sovereign Stakes in 1979. It was elevated to Group 3 in 1981 and has enjoyed its Group 2 status since 1996.

Year Winner
2020 Splintex
2019 Classique Legend
2018 Catchy
2017 Derryn
2016 Japonisme
2015 Delectation 
2014 Sidestep
2013 Rebel Dane
2012 Hot Snitzel
2011 Master Harry
2010 Shoot Out
2009 Youthful Jack
2008 El Cambio
2007 Mutawaajid
2006 Flying Pegasus
2005 Dance Hero
2004 Exceed And Excel
2003 Athelnoth
2002 Lonhro
2001 Assertive Lad
2000 Hire
1999 Lawyer
1998 Guineas
1997 Sovereign State
1996 Catalan Opening
1995 Danewin
1994 Rouslan
1993 Coronation Day
1992 Big Dreams
1991 All Archie
1990 Shaftesbury Avenue
1989 Ima Carpenter
1988 Dream Faith
1987 Imperial Baron
1986 Hula Chief
1985 Chimes Square
1984 All Chant
1983 Red Currant
1982 Best Western
1981 Trench Digger
1980 not held
1979 Acamar
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers