Doomben Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Doomben Cup run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Doomben Cup

Winners and Past Results of the Doomben Cup.

The Doomben Cup hosted by the Brisbane Racing Club is a premier Group 1 event for horses three years old and upwards.

The weight for age is hotly contested over a distance of 2000 meters at the Doomben Racetrack with half a $million dollars up for grabs during the winter carnival towards the end of May.

The event is held on one of the biggest race days during the winter carnival with as many as seven group races scheduled for the day. The Doomben Cup usually favours better performing middle distance gallopers and stayers that can take advantage of weight for age condition.

In recent times, the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes has proved to be a handy form guide with Metal Bender the latest to win the Hollindale Stakes/Doomben Cup double in 2010. In 2010, Metal Bender continued his winning form with a victory in the 1400 meter Group 2 Warwick Stakes at Warwick Farm later in August. Other outstanding gallopers to accomplish the feat are Rough Habit, Durbridge, Danewin, Might And Power, Mr. Bureaucrat, and Above Deck. Rough Habit is the only horse with three consecutive Doomben Cups to his credit between 1991 and 1993.

Horses that perform well in the Doomben Cup may consider entry to the Group 2 PJ O'Shea Stakes held at the Eagle Farm track.

Scenic Shot won 2200 meter weight for age race after winning the Doomben Cup and moved on to win the Group 2 Brisbane Cup during the winter racing carnival as well. Scenic Shot returned to win the 2011 Doomben Cup after finishing third in the Hollindale Stakes. He followed up his victory with a third place in Group 2 Eagle Farm Cup at Eagle Farm in June. Scenic Shot and earlier Lord Hybrow in 1988 are the only horses to score a Doomben Cup/Brisbane Cup double.

The Doomben Cup was first held in 1933 as a principal race won by Pentheus. The race attracted an increasing number of classy gallopers over the years, which resulted in the race being promoted to Group 1 in 1980.

Among the outstanding stayers to win the Doomben Cup in its early years include Bernborough in 1946, Earlwood in 1959-60, Lord Ben in 1974, and Marceau in 1978. Triple champion Rough Habit also won two Stradbroke Stakes, Southport Cups and the Queensland Derby during his career. Over the past two decades only three favourites have won the Doomben Cup.

Year Doomben Cup Winners
2020 Race Not Held
2019 Kenedna
2018 Comin' Through
2017 Sense of Occasion
2016 Our Ivanhowe
2015  Pornichet 
2014 Streama
2013 Beaten Up
2012 Mawingo
2011 Scenic Shot
2010 Metal Bender
2009 Scenic Shot
2008 Sarrera
2007 Cinque Cento
2006 Above Deck
2005 Perlin
2004 Defier
2003 Bush Padre
2002 Mr. Bureaucrat
2001 King Keitel
2000 Akhenaton
1999 Intergaze
1998 Might And Power
1997 Sapio
1996 Juggler
1995 Danewin
1994 Durbridge
1993 Rough Habit
1992 Rough Habit
1991 Rough Habit
1990 Eye Of The Sky
1989 Abstraction
1988 Lord Hybrow
1987 Dandy Andy
1986 Les' Choice
1985 Mr. Trick
1984 Hussar's Command
1983 Lord Seaman
1982 Double You Em
1981 Pelican Point
1980 Golden Rhapsody
1979 Waitangirua
1978 Marceau
1977 Grey Affair
1976 Cheyne Walk
1975 Golden Khan
1974 Lord Ben
1973 Lord Nelson
1972 Knee High
1971 Tails
1970 Divide And Rule
1969 Dual Control
1968 Sandy's Hope
1967 Bore Head
1966 Winfreux
1965 River Seine
1964 Striking Force
1963 Maspero
1962 Samson
1961 High Society
1960 Earlwood
1959 Earlwood
1958 Book Link
1957 Prince Delville
1956 Fair Chance
1955 Persian Link
1954 Euphrates
1953 French Echo
1952 Tossing
1951 Gay Felt
1950 Dream
1949 Rio Fe
1948 Forge
1947 Dark Marne
1946 Bernborough
1945 Repshot
1944 Bahtheon
1943 Qualeta
1942 Wiseland
1941 Lord Valentine
1940 Beaulivre
1939 Cooranga
1938 Brown Lance
1937 First Buzzard
1936 Verdun
1935 Serlodi
1934 Whittingham
1933 Pentheus
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers