Blue Diamond Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Blue Diamond Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Blue Diamond Stakes.

Winners and Past Results for the Blue Diamond Stakes.

The Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes hosted by the Melbourne Racing Club is Victoria 's richest race for two year old horses run under set weight conditions.

The 1200 meter race is held at the Caulfield Racecourse under set weight conditions where fillies carry 53 kgs and colts and gelding 55 ½ kgs.

The event is an open race held at the end of February during the autumn racing carnival. Paul Snowden-trained Sepoy, the 2011 champion, carried his form from the Blue Diamond Prelude for colts and geldings a fortnight earlier and made his connections richer by $1,500,000, the prize money for the winner.

Later, the quality colt also claimed the two million dollar 2011 Golden Slipper Stakes over a distance of 1200 meters, finishing well clear by two lengths from Mohseen. By the end of the Slipper, Sepoy already amassed $2.85 million with five wins from just six starts. Hurricane Sky, the 1994 winners, holds the fastest timing of 1 minute and 8.1 seconds. Several group races are held on the day which includes the Group 1 Futurity Stakes and Oakleigh Plate.

Since its inception in 1971, several of the finest sprinters have gone to achieve greater success after their tasting victory in the Blue Diamond Stakes. Tolerance was the first horse to win the event which was a principal race until 1980 when it was elevated to Group 1 after attracting the finest crop of sprinters aiming for the million dollar prize on what is the biggest day during the autumn racing carnival in at Caulfield. Among the most notable horses to win the Blue Diamond Stakes is Manikato, a champion Australian thoroughbred racehorse, in 1978. Manikato went on to win several other stake races in the same year, which included the Invitation Stakes, Caulfield Guineas, and Golden Slipper Stakes. Other classy sprinters to win Victoria 's richest trophy for two year olds include Blazing Saddles in 1977, Zeditave in 1988, Danelagh in 1998, Alinghi in 2004, and Star Witness in 2010.

Top horses to win a Blue Diamond Prelude / Stakes double include Alinghi, Love a Show, Bounding Away, Courtza, Lady Jakeo, an d Psychologist, among the fillies. Colts that won the double include Rancher in 1982, Let's Get Physical in 1985, Bel Esprit in 2002, and Sepoy in 2011.

Jockey Dwayne Dunn was lucky to lift the Blue Diamond Stakes on four occasions while trainer David Hayes saddled five winners. The Blue Diamond Stakes is also a form guide for the Group 2 Todman Stakes.

2014 Blue Diamond Stakes

It was an even start, with several contenders for the lead, before Nyeli claimed the front-running position with Ruick, Jabali and Earthquake all in the first half of the field. Nyeli continued to lead but eventually faded and as they straightened it was Rubick who made the first move, going to the lead with Jabali in pursuit and Earthquake starting a strong run. Rubick began to tire and Earthquake took advantage, grabbing the lead with ease and coasting away to claim an impressive win. Jabali kept up its run to just take second over Cornrow who steamed home late for third place.

Year Blue Diamond Stakes Winners
2020 Tagaloa
2019 Lyre
2018 Written By
2017 Catchy
2016 Extreme Choice
2015 Pride Of Dubai
2014 Earthquake
2013 Miracles Of Life
2012 Samaready
2011 Sepoy
2010 Star Witness
2009 Reward For Effort
2008 Reaan
2007 Sleek Chassis
2006 Nadeem
2005 Undoubtedly
2004 Alinghi
2003 Kusi
2002 Bel Esprit
2001 True Jewels
2000 Road To Success
1999 Redoute's Choice
1998 Danelagh
1997 Knowledge
1996 Paint
1995 Principality
1994 Hurricane Sky
1993 Lady Jakeo
1992 Riva Diva
1991 Canonise
1990 Mahaasin
1989 Courtza
1988 Zeditave
1987 Midnight Fever
1986 Bounding Away
1985 Let's Get Physical
1984 Street Cafe
1983 Love A Show
1982 Rancher
1981 Black Shoes
1980 Aare
1979 Star Shower
1978 Manikato
1977 Blazing Saddles
1976 Out Of Danger
1975 Lord Dudley
1974 Forina
1973 New Gleam
1972 John's Hope
1971 Tolerance

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers