Spring Champion Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Spring Champion Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Spring Champion Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Spring Champion Stakes.

One of the premier Group 1 races for three year olds hosted by the Australian Turf Club during the spring racing carnival is the Spring Champion Stakes.

For the Spring Champion Stakes, horses trek 2000 metres of the Randwick track in October for a chance to earn a purse worth $500,000. The colts and geldings carrying 56.5 kilograms and fillies at 54.5 kilograms.

Above average stayers have the opportunity to make amends in this set weight race that is held alongside other Group 1 races including the Epsom Handicap, Flight Stakes, and The Metropolitan.

Quality runners may fancy their chances after a run in the Group 2 Gloaming Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse, an event which has proved a steady form guide over the years.

The Spring Champion Stakes has been hosted by the ATC since 1971 with a promotion from a principal race to Group 1 coming in 1979. Prior to 1978, it was held during the autumn racing carnival as the Australasian Champion Stakes.

Jockey R. Quinton made winning a habit and steered 4 horses to victory in the Spring Champion Stakes between 1973 and 1985. While Sir Dapper, Stylish Century, Danewin, Tie The Knot and Dignity Dancer were some of the notable stayers to win in the 1990s, Savabeel in 2004 is among the outstanding gallopers to do so in recent times.

The time of 2 minutes and 0.4 seconds set by Dignity Dancer remains unbroken.

Year Spring Champion Stakes Winners
2020 Montefilia
2019 Shadow Hero
2018 Maid Of Heaven
2017 Ace High
2016 Yankee Rose
2015 Vanbrugh
2014 Hampton Court
2013 Complacent
2012 It's A Dundeel
2011 Doctor Doom
2010 Erewhon
2009 Monaco Consul
2008 Sousa
2007 Not Held
2006 Teranaba
2005 Hotel Grand
2004 Savabeel
2003 Niello
2002 Platinum Scissors
2001 Viking Ruler
2000 Universal Prince
1999 Fairway
1998 Dignity Dancer
1997 Tie The Knot
1996 Magic Of Sydney
1995 Nothin' Leica Dane
1994 Danewin
1993 Fraternity
1992 Coronation Day
1991 Kinjite
1990 St. Jude
1989 Stylish Century
1988 Sakana
1987 Beau Zam
1986 Imprimatur
1985 Easter
1984 Luck's A Lottery
1983 Sir Dapper
1982 Veloso
1981 Best Western
1980 Prince Majestic
1979 Kingston Town
1978 Lefroy
1978 Just A Steal
1977 Sir Silver Lad
1976 Cheyne Walk
1975 Taras Bulba
1974 Asgard
1973 Gold Brick
1972 Latin Knight
1971 Gay Icarus

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers