WA Oaks Winners, Past Results & Latest News

WA Oaks run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Western Australian Oaks

Winners and Past Results for the WA Oaks.

The most valuable Group 3 race for three year old fillies held during the autumn racing carnival at Ascot Racecourse in Perth is the Group 3 WA Oaks.

Fillies travel 2400 metres of the Ascot track under set weight conditions for a shot at prize money worth $250,000.

The event attracts the best local 3 year old females around at the time and sometimes may field interstate runners as well. The WA Oaks may not attract the cream of 3 year old fillies as the Group 1 Crown Oaks and Group 1 AJC Oaks back on the east coast but there is plenty of local staying talent around. In addition, the WA Oaks is the ultimate test for 3 year old fillies over an extended distance where trainers can identify potential long distance champions from their stable.

The Listed Natasha Stakes run on the same track over 2200m a fortnight earlier has proved to be one of the better form guides in recent times. Top performing fillies may move on to tackle the Group 2 WATC Derby in April. Grand Journey in 2008 and Dreamaway in 2011 managed to win the WA Oaks/WA Derby double most recently. Both fillies also managed to claim the triple crown which includes the WA Champion Fillies Stakes/WA Oaks/ WA Derby.

Copper Beech won the first WA Oaks in 1953, a principal race held over 12 furlongs. It was elevated to Group 1 in 1979 a year in which there was a dead heat between Gay Affair and Brechin Castle . It was downgraded to Group 2 in 1992 and once again to Group 3 in 2006.

Among the other notable winners to add the WA Oaks to their resume are Mystic Chantry in 1997, Old Money in 2000, Honor Lap in 2002, and Fatal Attraction in 2004.

Year WA Oaks Winners
2020 Tuscan Queen
2019 Dark Choice
2018 Special Alert
2017 Very Tempting
2016 First Impressions
2015 Delicacy
2014 Balmont Girl
2013 Moreish
2012 Pop Culture
2011 Dreamaway
2010 Impressive Jeuney
2009 Cassandara Shadow
2008 Grand Journey
2007 Westerly Breeze
2006 Moodometer
2005 Royal Drive
2004 Fatal Attraction
2003 Superior Star
2002 Honor Lap
2000 Old Money
1999 Reflected Image
1998 Matriculate
1997 Mystic Chantry
1996 Fabulous
1995 Unpretentious
1994 Beaux Art
1993 Leeuwin Concert
1992 Jevresa
1991 India's Dream
1990 Natasha
1989 Hasty Departure
1988 Trappings
1987 Judyann
1986 Cologne
1986 Send Me An Angel
1985 Contwig
1984 True Devotion
1983 Lowanna Rose
1982 Magic Gauntlet
1981 Badinage
1980 Queen Inca
1979 Gay Affair
Brechin Castle
1978 Autumn Talk
1977 Adaptable
1976 Lovely Curves
1975 Vatilla
1974 Our Pocket
1973 Paper Honey
1972 Maple Twig
1971 Sovereignito
1970 Star Supreme
1969 Baywana
1968 Painted Rose
1967 Kaytello
1966 Muette
1965 Carol's Choice
1964 Sweet Saga
1963 Swell Baby
1962 Activity
1961 Blue Rose
1960 Queen Of The Nile
1959 Lalisse
1958 Cheeky Jan
1957 Fairflow
1956 Dawdie
1955 Craghill
1954 Finesta
1953 Copper Beech

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers