Lee Steere Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Lee Steere Stakes run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Lee Steere Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Lee Steere Stakes.

Held at the prestigious Ascot Racecourse in Perth, the Lee Steere Stakes is a Group 2 Thoroughbred race held under weight for age conditions.

This 1400 meter race is held in November during the Perth Summer Racing Carnival. Organised by Perth Racing, the Lee Steere Stakes is for horses aged three and above with $200,000 in prize money at stake. The event is held in honour of Ernest Henry Lee – Steere, chairman of the Western Australian Turf Club from 1963 to 1984.

The Lee Steere Stakes was known as the All Aged Stakes between 1893 and 1938. It remained a principal race until 1979 when it was elevated to Group 2 since it began to attract a field of classy gallopers. The Lee Steere Stakes is the first Group 2 event of the Summer Racing Carnival, which is ideal for horses with either a good first up form or ones running well from spring. Many horses compete in the Group 3 Prince of Wales Stakes, which is held on the same track, the previous month.

It also attracts horses that go ahead and compete in the Group 1 Railway Stakes or the Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes, which are held on the Festival of Perth Racing Super Saturday. Over the last 20 years, M'lady's Jewel in 1991, Welcome Knight in 1992, Willoughby in 1997, Slavonic in 1999, and Belle Bizaarre in 2006, have won the Lee Steere and the Railway double.

Some of the better conditioned horses that seek to conquer great distances usually have their eye on the Group 1 Kingston Town Stakes which is run on the same day as the Group 1 Emirates Stakes in Melbourne . Early Express who won Lee Steere Stakes in 2003, went on to win both the 2005 Kingston Town Classic and C.B. Cox Stakes. Interestingly, in the last seven years mares have won five of Lee Steere Stakes, with the last four in a row.

In 2009, Idyllic Prince won the Prince of Wales and Lee Steere Stakes double, after which he came in second in the Winterbottom Stakes. The 2011 winner Ranger won the listed Northerly Stakes before winning this event. 2010 winner, Famous Roman, came into the race with a victory in the listed Northerly Stakes over 1400 M on the same track.

The inaugural event in 1893 was won by Scarpia, who went on to win the next two years, which was equalled only by Tarquin in 1897, 1888, and 1900. The Lee Steere Stakes has had many horses lift the trophy twice, which includes Cetotis in 1933 and 1936, Big Bob in 1962 and 1963, and La Trice in 1971 and 1972.

Year Lee Steere Stakes Winners
2020 Kay Cee
2019 Star Exhibit
2018 Gatting
2017 Silverstream
2016 Perfect Reflection
2015 Black Heart Bart
2014 Magnifisio
2013 Conservatorium
2012 Luckygray
2011 Ranger
2010 Famous Roman
2009 Idyllic Prince
2008 Marasco
2007 Grass Patch Girl
2006 Belle Bizarre
2005 Avenida Madero
2004 Ellicorsam
2003 Early Express
2002 Hardrada
2001 Tribula
2000 Umrum
1999 Slavonic
1998 Pennyweight Point
1997 Willoughby
1996 Bradson
1995 Century Blazer
1994 Jacks Or Better
1993 Wabasso
1992 Welcome Knight
1991 M'Lady's Jewel
1990 Mister Till
1989 Carry A Smile
1988 Sky Filou
1987 Denver Dame
1986 Fair Sir
1985 Concrete
1984 Coal Pak
1983 Argentine Gold
1982 Getting Closer
1981 Iko
1980 Scarlet Gem
1979 Asian Beau
1978 Romantic Dream
1977 Burgess Queen
1976 Detonator
1976 Sizzler
1975 Merry Heart
1974 Starglow
1972 Millefleurs
1972 La Trice
1971 La Trice
1970 Sherolythe
1969 Chemech
1968 Paper Cap
1967 Railway Boy
1966 Railway Boy
1965 Norval Boy
1964 All India
1963 Big Bob
1962 Big Bob
1961 First Orl
1960 Aquanita
1959 Young Filipino
1958 Ultramatic
1957 Mcharry
1956 Maniana
1955 Chestnut Lady
1954 Copper Beech
1953 Winker
1952 Letora
1950 Fawzia
1949 St. Falcon
1949 Garawind
1948 Westralian
1947 Santheine
1946 Frangus
1944 Lord Treat
1943 Skyro
1942 Dear Brutus
1941 Azoth
1939 Winbyie
1938 Gay Gipsy
1938 Tetreen
1936 Cetotis
1935 Old Story
1933 Cetotis
1932 not held
1931 Einga
1930 Pure Blend
1929 Peggy Poet
1927 Kongoni
1926 Tich
1925 Egyptian Idol
1924 Honneur
1923 Lilypond
1922 Scorpius
1921 Easingwold
1920 Jolly Cosy
1920 Mistico
1919 Haud
1917 Bardeur
1916 Mistico
1916 High Rock
1914 Lucky Beggar
1914 Tom Castro
1912 Saturate
1911 Artesian
1910 Jolly Beggar
1910 Annapolis
1908 Lady Bobadil
1907 May King
1907 Enchanteur
1905 Lady Agnes
1904 Betsy Burke
1904 Fifeness
1903 Manlock
1901 Cardinal
1901 Reliance
1900 Tarquin
1899 Aqua
1898 Tarquin
1897 Tarquin
1896 Carbonate
1895 Scarpia
1894 Scarpia
1893 Scarpia

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers