WATC Derby Winners, Past Results & Latest News

WATC Derby run at the Ascot Racecourse. Winners and past results of the WATC Derby

Winners and Past Results for the WATC Derby.

The WATC Derby is one of the premier staying events hosted by Perth Racing Club during the autumn racing carnival in April.

Although the WATC Derby has enjoyed Group 1 status until 2011 it has been downgraded to Group 2 for the 2012 edition with a reduction in prize money to $400,000 as well.

Three year old horses travel over the traditional distance of 2400 metres of the Ascot Racetrack in Perth under set weight conditions in a race that is often taken by the above average local stayer rather than a top liner. However, it does attract interstate three year old talent looking for a warm up for major staying events over the year.

The Group 3 Sires Produce Stakes is also held on the same day. The Group 1 WA Oaks held a week earlier at Ascot over the same distance is one of the better form guides in recent times. Level weights favour the above average stayers who more often than not are the ones to pick as winners and place getters.

The natural progression for some of the runners in the WATC Derby is the Group 2 Perth Cup. Promising stayers have also gone on to contest in major races like the Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup, and Caulfield Stakes back on the east coast later in the year. They may also tackle the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic and CB Cox Stakes at Ascot later in spring.

The WATC Derby is among the oldest races hosted at Ascot. It began as a principal race in 1888 and was promoted to Group 1 in 1979.

Among the talented stayers to win in recent times include Plastered in 2005, Cats Fun in 2007, and Chartreux in 2010.

The Ascot Racecourse is one of the oldest in the nation located 8 km east of Perth’s city centre and is also the headquarters of Perth Racing Club. It is considered the ‘Grand Old Lady’ of Australian racetracks that sees plenty of action throughout the year.

Year WATC Derby Winners
2020 Tuscan Queen
2019 Regal Power
2018 Action
2017 Gatting
2016 Arcadia Dream
2015 Delicacy
2014 Respondent
2013 Mystic Prince
2012 Rohan
2011 Dreamaway
2010 Chartreux
2009 Markus Maximus
2008 Grand Journey
2007 Guyno
2006 Cats Fun
2005 Plastrerd
2004 Mr Sandgroper
2003 Shirazamatazz
2002 Honor Lap
2000 Old Money
1999 Voile D'Or
1998 Kim Angel
1997 Hot Jules
1996 Capricious Lass
1995 Crying Game
1994 Beaux Art
1993 Beaujolais Boy
1993 Firing Range
1992 Heroicity
1991 Mirror Magic
1990 Chipolata
1989 Belele
1988 The Bukhra
1987 not held
1986 Joindre
1985 Rant And Rave
1984 National Gallery
1983 Old Currency
1982 Rare Flyer
1981 Vortilla
1980 Seltrice
1979 Mighty Kingdom
1978 Regimental Honour
1977 Stormy Rex
1976 Chasta Bellota
1975 Ngawyni
1974 Bottled Sunshine
1973 Asgard
1972 Dayana
1971 Ride Easy
1970 Chez Felix
1969 Surrender
1968 Hidalios
1967 Sir Chatary
1966 Redacre
1965 Baccare
1964 Kev's Folly
1963 Gojon
1962 Nicopolis
1961 Magic Colour
1960 Chestillion
1959 Little Empire
1958 England's Dust
1957 Nhargo
1956 Lady Orator
1955 Mallant
1954 Asterios
1953 Just Peter
1952 Raconteur
1951 Smart Chief
1950 Jovial Lad
1949 Prediction
1948 Precedent
1947 Westralian
1946 Lady Lucia
1945 Cherbourg
1944 Lord Treat
1943 Kalamunda
1942 Pantheist
1941 Kimra
1940 Hestia
1939 True Flight
1938 Gay Prince
1937 Footmark
1936 Oceanus
1935 Yaringa
1934 Hyperion
1933 Panto
1932 Olympian
1931 Isle Of Astur
1930 Beaunilly
1929 Ozonia
1928 Second Wind
1927 Hint
1926 Maple
1925 Sir Alwyne
1924 Huette
1923 Lilypond
1922 Killiecrankie
1921 Easingwold
1920 Fluent
1919 Eurythmic
1918 Oyadu
1917 Green Lord
1916 Yandil
1915 Pillotos
1914 Mistico
1913 Radnor
1912 Dueler
1911 Ayrville
1910 Renegade
1909 Jolly Beggar
1908 Thorina
1907 Post Town
1906 Benbow
1905 Piata
1904 Keston
1903 Bandolier
1902 Honeydew
1901 Trionia
1900 Warrior II
1899 Ormuz
1899 Wairiri
1898 Tarquin
1897 Le Var
1896 Inverary
1895 Florrie
1894 Carbine
1893 Scarpia
1892 Karratha
1891 The Crash
1890 St. Ives
1889 Aim
1888 Harridan
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers