Moonga Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Moonga Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Moonga Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Moonga Stakes.

Started in 1988, the Moonga Stakes is a 1400 metre Group 3 race hosted by Melbourne Racing Club.

The event is held under set weight conditions with penalties for horses aged four and above. The Moonga Stakes is worth $150,000 and held annually at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne as part of MRC's three day racing carnival in October.

It is hosted on the same day as MRC's most prestigious race, the Group 1 Caulfield Cup, which is also the final day of the carnival. The inaugural race was won by the illustrious Vo Rogue. It was a listed race till 1993, after which it was upgraded to Group 3. The Moonga Stakes in recent times has also been called the Betfair Stakes.

The Moonga Stakes usually fields horses who are handy gallopers with the ability to place well in a major race. Horses competing here usually go on to similar or stronger races during the carnival. The 2011 winner, Love Conquers All, came into this event after winning the Group 2 The Shorts at Rosehill Racecourse, and placing third in the Group 2 Premiere Stakes over 1200 M at Randwick. The horse then went on to place 5th in the Emirates Stakes at Flemington Racecourse.

The 2011 runner up, Albert the Fat, came into the race from a 2nd in The Shorts at Rosehill. He then went on to win the 1600 M Group 1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington, a month later.

2010 winner Rothera, came into this event after winning or placing 2nd in various handicap and listed events throughout the year. The gelding came fourth in the Group 2 at Hollindale Stakes, and then won the Fujitsu Open Handicap. After winning the Moonga Stakes, Rothera has not done so well in the races competed.

Hurtle Myrtle, who placed 5th in 2011, after placing 2nd in the Premiere Stakes at Randwick , went on win the 1600 M Group 1 Myer Classic. In a strange case of coincidence, Gathering who placed 5th in the Moonga Stacks in 2010, after winning the Listed Herald Sun Superstable Stakes at Flemington, went on to win the 1600 M Group 1 Railway Stakes at Ascot Racecourse. He came sixth in the Group 2 Crystal Mile at Moonee Valley, just before winning at Ascot.

Some of the horses who have gone on to achieve greater success include Assertive Lad in 2002, Flavour in 2001, and Rough Habit in 1992.

Year Moonga Stakes Winners
2019 Streets Of Avalon
2018 Sircconi
2017 Ulmann
2016 Voodoo Lad
2015 Vashka
2014 Lucky Hussler
2013 Boban
2012 Whateverwhenever
2011 Love Conquers All
2010 Rothera
2009 Mcclintock
2008 Royal Discretion
2007 Lord Of The Dance
2006 Perfectly Ready
2005 Volitant
2004 Amtrak
2003 Thorn Park
2002 Assertive Lad
2001 Flavour
2000 Cellar
1999 Another Neptune
1998 Buster Jones
1997 Monet's Cove
1996 Mamzelle Pedrille
1995 Royal Blue
1994 Star Dancer
1993 Cogitate
1992 Rough Habit
1991 Steineck
1990 Royal Pay
1989 Heavenly View
1988 Vo Rogue

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers