Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Vo Rogue Plate Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Vo Rogue Plate run at the Doomben Racecourse. The Vo Rogue Plate is a Queensland race named after the Australian Racing Hall Of Fame legend Vo Rogue.

The Vo Rogue Plate is a Group 3 contest for 3 year olds and older over 1400m at Doomben Racecourse under set weight conditions.

One of the newest races on the racing calendar the Vo Rogue Plate was first run in 2006 and has recently been moved from being run in December to January. Over its short history the Vo Rogue plate has seen several changes affecting its conditions.

2023 Vo Rogue Plate Race Details

Date Of The Vo Rogue Plate: 1/1/23

Venue For The Vo Rogue Plate: Doomben Racecourse

Time Of The Vo Rogue Plate: TBA

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The 2022 Vo Rogue Plate Ladbrokes

History Of The Vo Rogue Plate

Despite being only a relatively juvenile race in Australia the Vo Rogue Plate has had a busy history with multiple track and distance changes, a rescheduled race because of Equine Flu in 2008 and no running at all in 2020.

At its inaugural running in 2006 the Vo Rogue Plate was run at Doomben over 1350m up until its planned transition to Eagle Farm in 2013. Unfortunately because of work being completed at Eagle Farm to upgrade facilities the Vo Rogue was run for a 2 year period at the Gold Coast Racecourse (2014 and 2015). The Vo Rogue plate was finally transitioned to Eagle Farm in 2016 however this was only for one year as further required work on the Farm meant the race was run back at Doomben up further notice.

As a result of the changes in location the Vo Rogue was subsequently run over 1350m, 1300m and 1400m over its 14 year history.

In addition to changes in distance and location the Vo Rogue Plate was also upgraded from a Listed Race to a Group 3 race in 2008 with $300,000 in prize money made available for entrants.

The changes have continued with the Vo Rogue Plate in recent years with there being no running of the race in 2020 as a result of the race being moved to January 2nd 2021 in order to be a lead in race to the Magic Millions hosted in the Gold Coast later in the month.

History Of Vo Rogue

Vo Rogue was one of Australia's most decorated race horses winning 26 races through his 83 career starts including 17 Group races of which 6 were Group 1 wins. A further 5 of those Group races now carry Group 1 status.

The Bay Gelding was successful in a number of states that included Queensland, New South Wales and Western Australia but his real success came in Victoria during the Autumn period.

With his powerful front running style Vo Rogue was known for setting up huge leads and challenging the field to catch him. With the harder tracks in the cooler conditions of Autumn Vo Rogue loved the pace he could generate winning races between 1200m and 2000m.

At the start of his success Vo Rogue put the racing world on notice in 1987 winning the Creswick Stakes at Flemington by over 8 lengths and backed it up with Group 1 success in the Alastair Clarke Stakes at Moonee Valley a few weeks later.

Trained by legendary trainer Vic Rail and ridden predominantly by Cyril Small Vo Rogue had huge success between 1987 and 1990 in particular especially in the C.F. Orr stakes which he won 3 times in that period. The race over 1400m is now the distance of the Vo Rogue Plate as a replica of Vo Rogue’s favoured distance.

In 2004 Vo Rogue was honoured by the Queensland Racing Hall of Fame when he was inducted as a result of his achievements.

Passing in 2012 at the grand age of 28 Vo Rogue received further recognition for his achievements when he was inducted into the Australian Horse Racing Hall Of Fame in 2019.

Recent Results of the Vo Rogue Plate

In recent years we haven’t quite seen the huge front running displays the Vo Rogue displayed in his honoured race but we have seen some talented horses come out of the race.

Probably the most famous winner of the race is the 2012 victor Lucky Hussler who has since gone on to win 7 Group races amassing over $2m in prize money.

In more recent years we have also seen winners such as Winning Rupert for Bjorn Baker, Pierata for Greg Hickman and Boomsara for Chris Munce that have all gone on to further Group success and successful stud.

The most recent winner of the race has also had a victorious and at the same time chequered career in Alligator Blood.

Alligator Blood seemed to be on an upward trajectory after winning the Vo Rogue Plate going on to win the $2m 3yo Magic Millions but later being disqualified for a questionable sample. He has since then gained Group 1 success in the Australian Guineas however the cloud surrounding actions at the Gold Coast will always loom large.


Despite its stop start changeable history we hope that the Vo Rogue Plate has now found its home at Eagle Farm in the lead up to Magic Millions.

Its a fantastic way to honour Vo Rogue and recognise his achievements in the world of horse racing. His control over the C.F. Orr Stakes in the late 80’s is similar to the great achievements of Winx, Kingston Town and other treble winning Group 1 victors.

Now planned as a lead up race to Magic Millions it will be an excellent indicator race for form going into the Gold Coast event. With quality runners winning the race in recent years the schedule change will only help to bolster attendance by Australia's top racehorses.

A great race and a great way to honour an Australian Racing Legend.

YearVo Rogue Plate Winners
2022Tiger Heart
2021Apache Chase
2019Alligator Blood
2016Winning Rupert
2012Lucky Hussler
2011Punch On
2010Bennys Buttons
2009Graceful Anna
2008Youthful Jack
2006Sequential Charm

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Place a TOTE win bet on Races 1-6 at 3 Tracks, run 2nd or 3rd, get up to $50 back in Bonus Bets!
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. First Tote win bet placed online. See promotions page for full T&C ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers