Queensland Derby Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Queensland Derby run at the Eagle Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Queensland Derby

Winners and Past Results for the Queensland Derby

One of the classic staying races hosted by Brisbane Racing Club during its winter racing carnival in June is the Group 1 Queensland Derby.

The 2400 metre race for three year old horses is run under set weights at the Eagle Farm race track in Brisbane. A purse worth $600,000 awaits the winning connections on Eagle Farm's premier race day which also includes other major Group 1 races, the Stradbroke Handicap and The TJ Smith for two-year-olds. The premier staying event attracts a fine crop of three year olds preparing for the Victoria Derby in Melbourne and AJC Derby in Sydney.

Among the major warm up races for three year olds include the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes at Eagle Farm Racecourse and Doomben Classic at Doomben. In 2006, Ice Chariot won the Grand Prix Stakes prior to lifting the Queensland Derby. Earlier, he finished as runner up in the Doomben Classic. Several horses have either placed or won both events. Another lead up race is the Group 3 Rough Habit Plate also held at Doomben Racecourse in May over a distance of 2020 metres.

The most recent horse to win the Rough Habit Plate and Queensland Derby in succession was Empires Choice in 2007. Some horses come into the race after a run in the Group 1 Queensland Oaks held over 2400 metres at Eagle Farm. Although it may not be a handy form guide, 2010 winner, Dariana, with Michael Rodd in the saddle, was unplaced in the Oaks before scoring victory here. Michael Rodd went on to steer the $4.00 Derby favourite, Shootoff, to victory in the 2011 Queensland Derby as well. The duo finished fourth in the Group 1 Doomben Cup earlier at Doomben.

Several of the finest stayers in Australian thoroughbred racing history have stamped their authority on the Queensland Derby since it was first run as a principal race in 1868. This includes Kingston Town in 1980 and Rough Habit in 1990 although De Gaulle Lane clocked the fastest time of 2 minutes and 25.2 seconds. Strong stayers like Kingston Town brought the Queensland Derby its Group 1 status.

Other notable gallopers to win include Tulloch in 1957, Royal Sovereign in 1964, Strawberry Road in 1983, Yippyio in 1997, and Court Ruler in 2009. For punters, the Queensland Derby may be a good race to bank their money on place getters for the rest of the season.

Year Queensland Derby Winners
2020 Race Not Held
2019 Mr Quickie
2018 Dark Dream
2017 Ruthven
2016 Eagle Way
2015 Magicool 
2014 Sonntag
2013 Hawkspur
2012 Brambles
2011 Shoot Off
2010 Dariana
2009 Court Ruler
2008 Riva San
2007 Empires Choice
2006 Ice Chariot
2005 Lachlan River
2004 Toulouse Lautrec
2003 Half Hennessy
2002 County Tyrone
2001 De Gaulle Lane
2000 Freemason
1999 Camarena
1998 Dodge
1997 Yippyio
1996 Valance
1995 Turridu
1994 Tenor
1993 Air Seattle
1992 Royal Magic
1991 Dorset Downs
1990 Rough Habit
1989 Hidden Rhythm
1988 Bravery
1987 Princess Gracious
1986 Handy Proverb
1985 Tristina
1984 Librici
1983 Strawberry Road
1982 Our Planet
1981 Mr. Cromwell
1980 Kingston Town
1979 Double Century
1978 Lefroy
1977 Florissa
1976 Cheyne Walk
1975 Bottled Sunshine
1974 Count Rapier
1973 Analie
1972 not held
1971 Amby's Love
1970 Silver Sharpe
1969 Intrepid Clipper
1968 Tails
1967 Minto Crag
1966 Dark Briar
1965 Bahram Star
1964 Royal Sovereign
1963 Confidence
1962 Honest Man
1961 Raajpoot
1960 Persian Lyric
1959 Travel Boy
1958 Earlwood
1957 Tulloch
1956 Book Link
1955 Regal Dignity
1954 The Wash
1953 Castillo
1952 Headstockman
1951 Forest Beau
1950 Basha Felika
1949 Pocket Money
1948 Blue Slipper
1947 Sefiona
1946 Te Tana
1945 not held
1944 not held
1943 not held
1942 not held
1941 Lord Spear
1940 Fearless Fox
1939 Spearace
1938 Hendra Lad
1937 Spear Chief
1936 Six Fifty
1935 Auto Buz
1934 Glen's Spear
1933 Waikare
1932 Braeburn
1931 Lough Neagh
1930 Monash Valley
1929 Bernfield
1928 Paddi Eve
1927 High Syce
1926 Kitty Paddington
1925 Wee Glen
1924 Serelot
1923 Ardglen
1922 Kingslot
1921 Lawn Mower
1920 Seremist
1919 Boy Syce
1918 Syce Lad
1917 Symposium
1916 Lord Acre
1915 Rascasse
1914 Fog Bell
1913 Signal Lamp
1912 King Cleo
1911 Maritoria
1910 Persian Jewel
1909 Braw Laddie
1908 Flaxen
1907 Euroa
1906 Togo
1905 Alexis
1904 Joyance
1903 Fitz Grafton
1902 Balfour
1901 Narelle
1900 Musket
1899 Master Bernie
1898 Boreas II
1897 The Guard
1896 Greyleg
1895 Black Diamond
1894 Czarina
1893 Triton
1892 Tridentate
1891 Splendide
1890 Garuda
1889 Fernando
1888 Greywing
1887 Lord Headington
1886 Fano
1885 Elbe
1884 Petronel
1883 Wheatmeat
1882 Goldfinder
1881 Legerdemain
1880 Waterloo
1879 Elastic
1878 Whisker
1877 not held
1876 not held
1875 not held
1874 not held
1873 not held
1872 J.L.
1871 Florence
1870 Grafton
1870 Grafton
1869 Zambesi
1868 Hermit
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers