PJ OShea Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

PJ OShea Stakes run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the PJ OShea Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the PJ O'Shea Stakes

PJ O'Shea Stakes is a Group 2 race for horses three years old and above. It is held every year at the end of May or beginning of June at the Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane. Since 2010 it has been called the Eagle Farm Cup.

This weight for age race is contested over a distance of 2200 metres with a purse worth $250,000 going to the winner courtesy Brisbane Racing Club.

The inaugural race back in 1947 was won by Russia over 10 furlongs when the race was a Principal Race.

The PJ O'Shea Stakes suits the classier types mainly due to the weight for age conditions, and often attracts quality gallopers, with a number of local stayers and a steady stream of interstate rivals wanting to test themselves over 2200 metres. The usual race to consider as a form guide is the Group 1 Doomben Cup. This 2020 meter race has had a number of winners and placers go on to win or place in the PJ O'Shea Stakes.

The recent horses to accomplish this have been Scenic Shot in 2009, who completed the double, while Rampant and Gaze, placed in both events in 2008 and 2007, respectively. Glass Harmonium in 2011, Triple Honour in 2010, Natural Blitz in 2005 and Pentastic in 2004, all placed in the Doomben Cup before winning the PJ O'Shea Stakes.

From this race, many horses may enter the 2400 M Group 2 Brisbane Cup at the same track a week later or the 2200 M Group 3 Tattersall's Cup, which is held on the same day as the Group 1 Winter Stakes, usually a fortnight later.

The 2011 PJ O'Shea Stakes was won by Glass Harmonium, who came in from placing 3rd in the Doomben Cup. He went on to finish runner up in the Brisbane Cup before taking a three month spell. The 2011 runner up was Shoot Out, followed by Scenic Shot. Scenic Shot won this event twice in 2008 and 2009, and in 2009 he went on to complete the Brisbane Cup Double.

Some of the best stayers to compete in the PJ O'Shea Stakes have been Rough Habit in 1995, which he won and was the runner up in the Melbourne Cup the same year and Yippyio who won this event in 2001.

Year PJ O'Shea Stakes Winners
2020 Race Not Held
2019 Kenedna
2018 Egg Tart
2017 Single Gaze
2016 Race not held
2015 Werther
2014 Moriarty
2013 Quintessential
2012 Lights Of Heaven
2011 Glass Harmonium
2010 Triple Honour
2009 Scenic Shot
2008 Scenic Shot
2007 Pentathon
2006 Mahtoum
2005 Natural Blitz
2004 Pentastic
2003 Maguire
2002 Hey Pronto
2001 Yippyio
2000 Ken's Joy
1999 Sharscay
1998 Intergaze
1997 Pakaraka Star
1996 The Phantom
1995 Rough Habit
1994 Full Suit
1993 Dark Ksar
1992 Mountain Rule
1991 Magnolia Hall
Spring Thaw
1990 Shuzohra
1989 Card Shark
1988 Lord Hybrow
1987 Our Silver Elm
1986 Rising Fear
1985 Our Boyfriend
1984 Godarchi
1983 Prince Majestic
1982 Shamrock
1981 Four Crowns
1980 Iko
1979 Belmura Lad
1978 Tod Bay
1977 Ngawyni
1976 Balmerino
1975 Nourishing
1974 Passetreul
1973 Baghdad Note
1972 Tails
1971 Bluelough
1970 Roman Consul
1969 Roman Consul
1968 Swift Peter
1967 Striking Force
1966 Striking Force
1965 Fair Patton
1964 Count Radiant
1963 Oakland
1962 Rural Loch
1961 Tulloch
1960 Tulloch
1959 Caesar
1958 Sailo's Guide
1957 Redcraze
1956 Redcraze
1955 Surprise Ending
1954 Gallant Archer
1953 Hydrogen
1952 Spellman
1951 Voussoir
1950 Persist
1949 Dark Marne
1948 On Cor
1947 Russia
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers