George Moore Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

George Moore Stakes run at the Eagle Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the George Moore Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the George Moore Stakes.

The George Moore Stakes is held under the aegis of the Brisbane Racing Club. It is a Group 3 race held annually at Doomben Racecourse Brisbane.

The George Moore Stakes is open for 3 year old horses and upwards. The quality handicap race is run over a distance of 1200 metres with $128,000 reserved for the winner out of a total of $200,000 in prize money.

Earlier, the George Moore Stakes was known as the Summer Stakes. The event is a part of the popular Brisbane's Summer Series. The Group 3 Vo Rogue Plate is held on the same day as the George Moore Stakes in December. The 2011 title went to Adebisi, who snatched victory from Latin News and Spirit Of Boom.

The George Moore Stakes has switched status as a Listed Race and Group 3 Race three times. The event was first run in 1979 with Princess Reichen recorded as the first winner. Between 1979 and 1982, it was a Group 3 race, but was downgraded to a Listed Race between 1983 and 2000. Since 2001 it has retained its Group 3 status.

The race has been held under several different names over the years which include the XXXX Stakes between 1979 and 1986, Thornhill Park Stakes in 1987, L J Williams Quality Handicap, and the Summer Stakes.

Since 2007, it has been held as the George Moore Stakes.

Over the years, reasonably talented sprinters have won this event especially those in form during that time of the season. Mirraben held onto the trophy for three consecutive years between 1987 and 1989. Horses may fancy their chances in the George Moore Stakes after an outing in the Group 1 Salinger Stakes over 1200 M or the Group 2 The Age Classic also over the same distance at Flemington earlier in the season.

In 2005, Takeover Target used both the events as a warm up with a fourth and seventh place before a spate of victories beginning with the George Moore Stakes. He moved on to win the Doomben Stakes, and Group 1 Lightning Stakes during the season. Notable sprinters to win recently include Adebisi in 2011, Burdekin Blues in 2009 and Friendly Embrace in 2008. Prior to winning the 2011 George Moore Stakes, Adebisi won a BM90 over 1000 metres at the Eagle Farm track.

The 2010 George Moore Stakes was not run.

Year George Moore Stakes Winners
2020 Hard Empire
2019 Chapter And Verse
2018 I'm A Rippa
2017 Monsieur Gustave
2016 Most Important
2015 Didntcostalot
2014 Big Money
2013 Lucky Hussler
2012 Startsmeup
2011 Adebisi
2010 Not Held
2009 Burdekin Blues
2008 Friendly Embrace
2007 Not Held
2006 Natural Destiny
2005 Takeover Target
2004 Show Biz Kid
2003 Make Mine Magic
2002 Baal Yabba
2001 Alpine Express
2000 Fine Action
1999 Major Victory
1998 City Hall
1997 Chief De Beers
1996 Rip Home
1995 Atlantic Crossing
1994 Chief De Beers
1993 Morden
1992 Buck's Pride
1991 Turvey
1990 Gypsy Rogue
1989 Mirraben
1989 Mirraben
1987 Mirraben
1986 Paris Beau
1985 Basic French
1984 Fixed Flush
1983 Foreign Interest
1982 Marquee Star
1981 Handsome Prince
1980 Grand Rocky
1979 Princess Reichen

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers