Randwick Racecourse Details & Map | Australian Turf Club

Royal Randwick is one of Australia’s most famous racecourses. The track is the largest racecourse in New South Wales. The course has been conducting race meetings for over 160 years. Located just 5 km from the CBD, the track hosts 45 meetings annually. The track is 2,227 metres in circumference with sweeping bends with a 410 metre straight.

Randwick Racecourse, operated by the Australian Turf Club, Sydney New South Wales.

Randwick Racecourse is one of Australia's most famous racecourses and features the largest racetrack in New South Wales and is operated by the Australian Turf Club. Its signature racing event is the Australian Derby.

The first race at the track was held in June, 1833, being a private match between two horses.

On January 28th, 1833, The Governor, His Excellency Major-General Sir Richard Bourke, reserved a piece of land on the Botany Road for a new racecourse, originally called Sandy Course but now known as Randwick Racecourse.

Randwick Racecourse has been holding race meetings for over 180 years.

In 1992 the Australian Jockey Club was given the right to call it 'Royal Randwick' after a request to Queen Elizabeth.

In 1977 Randwick Racecourse was modernised with computerised betting system which lead to a large increase in government revenue.

Today, the Randwick Racecourse is regarded as Sydney's racing headquarters. The racecourse is located approximately six kilometres from the Sydney CBD in the suburb of Randwick. Besides horse racing, the venue has been used for many other events including masses and concerts. Randwick Racecourse in 1995 was used as the site for a mass by Pope John Paul II and before that in 1970, Pope Paul VI had another mass to celebrate his visit to Australia. The racecourse has been seen in many movies such as Mission Impossible II.

Queen Elizabeth visited Randwick on February 22nd, 1992 and opened the newly built $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

Sydney's oldest racecourse, dating back to 1860 will undergo a 150 million dollar redevelopment in 2012-13. The redevelopment will included a new grandstand, mounting yards and other facilities to bring it back to one of the worlds premier race venues. Racing will recommence at the track in Spring 2013.

Randwick Racecourse has a circumference of 2213 metres and the straight is 410 metres long. This large course has sweeping bends and gives all runners a chance at winning. Not the best wet weather course due to poor drainage.

Randwick Racecourse has multiple race tracks including the Course Proper, which is the largest track in New South Wales, and the Kensington Track (Second largest track in Sydney) which is used for racing, training and trials.

Randwick also has more training tracks which are grass, dirt & sand tracks, as well as a Bullring and Equine Pool. It houses more than 20 Trainers and 650+ horses.

Facilities At Randwick Racecourse:

  • Betting auditorium located on the ground floor of the official stand which surrounds the Randwick Racecourse.
  • The Galaxy Dining Room where a full buffet lunch or afternoon tea is available.
  • Open Terraces are also available for a more casual get together.
  • Panorama Room in the Paddock Grandstand with magnificent views over the racecourse.
  • Panorama Open Terraces.
  • Bookmaker and Tote betting and Sports betting.
  • Seating arrangement in an air conditioned environment.
  • Cafe and Bars throughout the racecourse.
  • State of the art audio and video amenities displaying bookie boards, odds and live broadcasting on plasma screens.

The Randwick Racecourse hosts 2 Racing Carnivals each year – the Spring Racing Carnival and the Autumn Racing Carnival.

The Spring Carnival is held every September through to November with races including:

  • George Main Stakes
  • Epsom Handicap
  • Flight Stakes
  • Spring Champion Stakes
  • Metropolitan Handicap

The Autumn Racing Carnival is held every April and May with races including:

  • Australian Derby
  • AJC Oaks
  • Queen Elizabeth Stakes
  • Doncaster Handicap
  • Sydney Cup

Members Area Dress Standard:

  • Gentlemen: Suit, blazer, sports coat and tie, except during the period of daylight saving, when coats need not be worn, provided braces are not showing. Sport shoes and jeans not allowed.
  • Ladies: Suitable standard in keeping with the style of the Members' Enclosure.

Transport To Randwick Racecourse:

  • The nearest train stations to the track is Green Square Station approx a 15 minute walk and Central Station, approx 20 minute walk.
  • Buses are very convenient. They leave at regular intervals (15 mins) from the Central Station & travel directly to the Randwick Racecourse on Alison Street.
  • Located about 6kms from the Sydney CBD via the Cahill Expressway. There is ample parking at the track including the infield section.


77 - 97 Alison Road,
NSW 2031
PO Box 3,
NSW 2031
Ph. (02) 9663 8400
Fax (02) 9662 6292

Randwick Racecourse is the home of the Australian Derby | Doncaster Handicap | Sydney Cup | Australian Oaks | Epsom Handicap | Summer Cup | Breeders Classic | Chairmans Handicap | Chelmsford Stakes | Emancipation Stakes | Furious Stakes | George Ryder Stakes | George Main Stakes and more....

Find below all the Group Races run at Randwick Racecourse during the season.

Group 1 Group 2 Group 3
Australian Derby Chairmans Handicap Adrian Knox Stakes
ATC Oaks Breeders Classic Bill Ritchie Handicap
Queen Elizabeth Stakes Chelmsford Stakes Colin Stephen Quality Handicap
Sires Produce Stakes Emancipation Stakes Craven Plate
All Aged Stakes Furious Stakes Frank Packer Plate
Champagne Stakes Light Fingers Stakes Southern Cross Stakes
Doncaster Handicap Roman Consul Stakes Kindergarten Stakes
Epsom Handicap Royal Sovereign Stakes Randwick City Stakes
Flight Stakes Sapphire Stakes San Domenico Stakes
George Main Stakes Stan Fox Stakes Skyline Stakes
Randwick Guineas Villiers Stakes South Pacific Classic
Spring Champion Stakes   Summer Cup
Sydney Cup   Sweet Embrace Stakes
TJ Smith Stakes   The Shorts
The Galaxy   Tramway Quality Handicap
Metropolitan Handicap    

Randwick Racecourse Barrier Guide

  • 1000 metres: This barrier is located in a small chute off the course proper and provides a short angled run of 50 metres to the course proper and then runners have a straight run of nearly 550 metres to the home turn. Inside barriers are a slight advantage.
  • 1200 metres: Similar to the 1000 metres in another chute off the course proper. Runners travel on a slight angle for 250 metres till they reach the course proper and then there is a straight run of nearly 550 metres to the home turn. Inside barriers are a slight advantage.
  • 1400 metres: This start is located in a 3rd chute off the course proper. There is an angled run of 450 metres to the first corner then a good straight run to the home turn. Inside barriers have a slight advantage.
  • 1600 metres: This barrier is located at the end of a chute off the course proper. There is a straight run of 650 metres to the first turn. Inside barriers have a slight advantage.
  • 2000 metres: This barrier starts on the course proper in the turn out of the straight. Runners are on a turn for 450 metres. Field sizes are restricted to 14 runners. Inside barriers have a big advantage.
  • 2400 metres: This barrier starts on the course proper only 200 metres before the winning post, after which runners enter the sweeping double turn out of the straight. Inside barriers have a clear advantage.
  • 2600 metres: This barrier starts on the course proper 400 metres before the winning post, after which runners enter the sweeping double turn out of the straight. Inside barriers have an advantage.
  • 3200 metres: This barrier starts near the 1000 metres start. There is a straight run of nearly 600 metres to the first turn. Inside barriers are a slight advantage.