Up and Coming Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Up And Coming Stakes run at the Warwick Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Up And Coming Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Up And Coming Stakes.

The Up and Coming Stakes is a Group 3 race for three year old colts and geldings hosted by the Australian Turf Club in August at Randwick Racecourse.

Horses compete for prize money worth $150,000. The 1300 metre sprint race is held under set weight conditions. The female equivalent of the race, the Group 3 Silver Shadow Stakes is also scheduled on the same day.

The Up and Coming Stakes suits males that are looking to step up in distance with some contesting after a run in the Group 3 San Domenico Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse while some horses may return fresh from a spell. The Up and Coming Stakes has a history of suiting the classier types which is evident from its roll of honour. The Group 3 Gloaming Stakes at Rosehill and the Spring Stakes at Newcastle Racecourse may be next on the cards while some horses may fancy their chances in the 1300 M Group 2 Furious Stakes held at the same track in September.

Among the stars of the turf to win the Up and Coming Stakes include Mahogany, General Nediym, and Testa Rossa in the 1990s while Exceed And Excel, Fastnet Rock, Snitzel, and Court Command won between 2003 and 2006 respectively.

Spear is recorded as the first winner of the Up and Coming Stakes as a listed race in 1979. It was promoted to Group 3 in 1982 and was first run as a Group 2 event in 1998. It was briefly downgraded to Group 3 but is back in Group 2 since 2011.

Year Up And Coming Stakes Winners
2020 North Pacific
2019 True Detective
2018 Master Ash
2017 Dracarys
2016 Divine Prophet
2015 Shards
2014 Scissor Kick
2013 War
2012 Albrecht
2011 Manawanui
2010 Blackball
2009 Rarefied
2008 Dreamscape
2007 not held
2006 Court Command
2005 Snitzel
2004 Fastnet Rock
2003 Exceed And Excel
2002 Snowland
2001 Newquay
2000 Zariz
1999 Testa Rossa
1998 Paris Dream
1997 General Nediym
1996 Paint
1995 Our Maizcay
1994 Bulldog Yeats
1993 Mahogany
1992 West End
1991 Kinjite
1990 The Bullfighter
1989 Patronise
1988 Star Watch
1987 Sky Chase
1986 Broad Reach
1985 Timothy
1984 Royal Troubador
1983 Sir Dapper
1982 Marscay
1981 Best Western
1980 John's Hero
1979 Spear

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers