Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

San Domenico Stakes 2022 Tips, News, Winners and Past Results

San Domenico Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Rosehill Racecourse over 1100 metres annually. Prize money for the event is worth $160,000

Winners and Past Results for the San Domenico Stakes

The San Domenico Stakes is a Group 3 race for three year old horses hosted by the Australian Turf Club. The 1100 metre sprint race is held at Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney in August during the winter racing carnival.

2022 San Domenico Stakes Information

Date Of The San Domenico Stakes: 27/8/22

Time Of The San Domenico Stakes: TBA

Venue For The San Domenico Stakes: Rosehill Racecourse

How To Live Stream The San Domenico Stakes

To live stream the San Domenico Stakes, Sign Up To TAB and watch the race for free.

How To Bet On The San Domenico Stakes

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The San Domenico Stakes: Ladbrokes

My 2022 San Domenico Stakes Betting Tips

1. TBA

2. TBA

3. TBA

More Details About The San Domenico Stakes

The event has been held over 1100 metres intermittently over the years with $160,000 going to the winning connections.

For punters, picking a winner may be a tricky affair since many horses may be just in from a spell looking for greater glory during the soon approaching spring carnival.

The better performing three year old has the advantage of set weights in the San Domenico Stakes which has seen a number of handy horses move on to greater heights during the spring carnival. Among the most notable three year olds in recent times to perform well include Karuta Queen.

After finishing third in the 2011 San Domenico Stakes, the filly went on to win and place well in group races during the spring carnival.

For some horses, first up after the San Domenico Stakes may be the Group 3 Silver Shadow Stakes at Warwick Farm Racecourse, which is held a week later at an extended distance of 1200 metres.

Another event that horses may fancy their chances is the Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes held at the Randwick track in October. 2010 winner, Obsequious, was unplaced in the Silver Shadow Stakes and finished runner up in the Roman Consul Stakes while second placed Solar Charged managed to grab the second spot in the Silver Shadow Stakes as well before taking on some tough opposition in the Group 3 Thousand Guineas Prelude at Caulfield Races.

Foxwedge, winner in 2011, also proved his worthiness by running a close second in the Group 3 Run To The Rose at Rosehill and finally claimed victory in the Roman Consul Stakes as well.

Therefore, punters ought to consider the San Domenico Stakes a handy form guide when looking for a place getter and likely winner in these events. S

Horses that have tasted success as a two year old in the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes and Golden Slipper are likely to have their first taste of the track as a three year old in the San Domenico Stakes following a spell.

The San Domenico Stakes began as a listed race in 1980 and was briefly a Group 3 race in 1984 and 1985 before being upgraded to Group 2 in 1986. However, the race has been a Group 3 event once again since 2006.

San Domenico Stakes Past Winners

2021In the Congo
2016Star Turn
2013Va Pensiero
2007Sliding Cube
2006Gold Edition
2004Charge Forward
2003Regimental Gal
2002Star Of Florida
1999Testa Rossa
1998not held
1997General Nediym
1996Sovereign State
1995Our Maizcay
1994Lord Jim
1989Show County
1988Merimbula Bay
1986Gallery Level
1985Let's Get Physical
1984Quiet Little Drink
1983Sir Dapper
1981Black Shoes
1980Proud Knight

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers