Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

The Tancred Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

The Tancred Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Tancred Stakes

Winners and Past Results for Tancred Stakes.

The Tancred Stakes recently run as The BMW Stakes, is a prestigious Group 1 weight for age race for horses three years old and over.

The 2400 metre race is hosted by the Australian Turf Club at the Rosehill Racetrack in Sydney in April during the autumn racing carnival.

The best stayers and long distance runners compete for prize money worth $1,500,000 on a day that also includes the Golden Slipper Stakes, George Ryder Stakes and Queen of the Turf Stakes, giving punters a great opportunity to spread their wagers and make up for any losses early in the year. The Tancred Stakes attracts a quality field with a few New Zealand stayers making their way to the Rosehill track as well. It is the richest weight for age race during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

One of the reasonable form guides is the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes. The weight for age race held over 2000 metres on the same track has produced a few winners. Tie The Knot in 2000, Eremein in 2006, and Tuesday Joy in 2008 have all scored in both events in recent times although there were a few more in earlier times. There has been no dearth of classy stayers to blaze the track in the Tancred Stakes. Kingston Town won the first Group 1 Tancred Stakes in 1980. Poetic Prince won convincingly in 1989 while Octagonal scored back to back victories in 1996-97. Might And Power came through with flying colours in 1998 while Tie The Knot came back twice in a row in 1999-2000. Ethereal in 2002 and the invincible Makybe Diva in 2005 are among the outstanding mares to win the Tancred Stakes.

The Tancred Stakes was first held in 1963 as a principal race and was later promoted directly to Group 1 in 1980. The race has been held under different names over the years, which includes the the Tancred Stakes and Mercedes Classic. Interestingly, The Tancred Stakes has been won by three-year-olds only six times in the last two decades. Four year olds have 10 tittles to their credit. Among the Melbourne Cup winners to also win the Tancred Stakes are Might And Power in 1998, Ethereal in 2002, and Makybe Diva in 2005.

YearThe Tancred Stakes Winners
2021Sir Dragonet
2020Verry Elleegant
2014Silent Achiever
2008Tuesday Joy
2005Makybe Diva
2004Grand Zulu
2001Curata Storm
2000Tie The Knot
1999Tie The Knot
1998Might And Power
1995Stony Bay
1993Kaaptive Edition
1991Dr. Grace
1989Our Poetic Prince
1988Beau Zam
1982Prince Majestic
1981My Blue Denim
1980Kingston Town
1977Our Cavalier
1976Major Battle
1975Sovereign Yacht
1974Knee High
1973Apollo Eleven
1971Natural Trump
1970Bright Shadow
1969Prince Grant
1967Indian Harvest
1966Striking Force
1964King Roto

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers