Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

Emancipation Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Emancipation Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Emancipation Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Emancipation Stakes.

The popular Group 2 event held at Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney is the Emancipation Stakes hosted by the Australian Turf Club.

The race is held over a distance of 1600 metres. The Emancipation Stakes use to bet held annually at the end of the April on the final day of the Sydney autumn racing carnival but has now been moved to Golden Slipper Day.

The race is for fillies and mares 3 years old and over and run under set weight plus penalty conditions. The tidy purse of $200,000 awaits the winner. Horses may make their way to the Emancipation Stakes from the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Classic held at Rosehill Racecourse during the carnival. Top performers of the Emancipation Stakes may go on and contest the Queen Of The Turf Stakes held at Randwick.

Over the years, the race has witnessed above average gallopers that find the set weight and penalty conditions to their advantage.

The race is only for fillies and mares, this gives an extra bit of advantage to the judged milers to showcase their best talent and in having a best chance at winning. Other popular and important events which occur on the same day as the Emancipation Stakes is the Golden Slipper Stakes, The BMW, Storm Queen Stakes and The Tulloch Stakes which all add to the importance of the race program.

The Emancipation Stakes event was named after the honour of the former champion mare Emancipation. At the age of three, she had thirteen starts and won a whopping ten of them. Although Emancipation was not raced as a two year old, surprisingly at the age of four she performed well with nine wins from just fifteen starts. In 1983/84, Emancipation was awarded with the most prestigious award, the Australian Horse of the Year Award.

Till 1996, the Stakes was a Listed Race. Between 1996 and 1998, it was moved to a Group 3 event, and finally in 1999 it became a Group 2 race.

Some of the recent winners of this event are Sworn To Secrecy in 2011, followed by Sacred Choice in 2010 and Amberino in 2009.

YearEmancipation Stakes Winners
2020Positive Peace
2019Invincible Gem
2018Prompt Response
2011Sworn To Secrecy
2010Sacred Choice
2008Kosi Bay
2007Hot Danish
2005Perfect Promise
2004Hec Of A Party
2003Faith Hill
2002Miss Zoe
2000Beat The Fade
1996Star County
1995Vital Consent
1992Romanee Conti
1991Ice Cream Sundae
1990Top Dance
1987Clavell's Girl
1986Sea Pictures

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers