Southern Cross Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Southern Cross Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Southern Cross Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Southern Cross Stakes. See Frederick Clissold Stakes,

The Southern Cross Stakes is a Group 3 race held under handicap conditions at Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales in late February.

The race is open to horses of all ages that travel a distance of 1200 metres for a shot at prize money worth $150,000.

This event generally takes place at the beginning of the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is organiSed on the same day as the Light Fingers Stakes by the Australian Turf Club.

The Southern Cross Stakes has been known under different names since its inception in 1940. Gold Rod was the first to win the title. It began as a Principal Race held over a distance of 6 furlongs, which is approximately equal to 1200 metres. It became a Listed Race in 1980 and was elevated to Group 3 in 1989.

Among the names the race has been known as include the Frederick Clissold Handicap, the Anniversary Cup, Frederick Clissold Quality, Frederick Clissold Stakes and Premier Express Freight Stakes. Since 2009 the race has been held as the Southern Cross Stakes.

Statistics indicate that the Southern Cross Stakes is not the choice of top gallopers but attracts sprinters that are just above average in this field. This is due to its early schedule and several bigger races that take place in Melbourne during the season.

Horses contesting in this event also may participate in the Group 3 Liverpool City Cup held at Warwick Farm, scheduled on the same day as the Chipping Norton Stakes Day. The Liverpool City Cup, though, is held over a distance of 1300 metres as compared to 1200 metres for the Southern Cross Stakes. Dreamscape was runner up in both events in 2010.

Notable winners of this event in recent times include Sister Madly in 2011, Kenny's World in 2010 and Marchinski in 2009. Many horses like recent winner, Sister Madly, enter the Southern Cross Stakes after a spell, making it tough for punters to come up with a winner.

However, punters also ought to keep an eye on runners who excel in the previous year's spring racing carnival in Melbourne in races such as the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality, the 1400 M Group 3 Chatham Stakes, and 1500 M Sandown Stakes.

Classy sprinters to take home prize money from the Southern Cross Stakes include Danewin in 1996, Ab Initio in 1999, Lord Essex in 2002, and Collate in 2006.

Year Southern Cross Stakes Winners
2021 Masked Crusader
2020 Special Reward
2019 Eckstein
2018 Kaepernick
2017 Le Romain
2016 Big Money
2015 Heart Testa
2014 Terravista
2013 Skytrain
2012 No Evidence Needed
2011 Sister Madly
2010 Kenny's World
2009 Marchinski
2008 Hoystar
2007 The Free Stater
2006 Collate
2005 Cool Front
2004 Britt's Best
2003 Gordo
2002 Lord Essex
2001 Ab Initio
2000 Pimpala Prince
1999 Ab Initio
1998 Confiscate
1997 Secret Savings
1996 Danewin
1995 Alert Me
1994 Deposition
1993 Big Dreams
1992 Friend's Venture
1991 Joanne
1990 Comrade
1989 Diamond Benny
1988 Wong
1987 Swift Cheval
1986 Avon Angel
1985 Pete's Gold
1984 Gelsomino
1983 Bronze Spirit
1982 Ubetido
1981 Goreham
1980 Brandy Sipper
1979 Scomeld
1978 Always Welcome
1977 Tiger Town
1976 Hartshill
1975 Let's Fly
1974 not held
1973 not held
1972 Gunsynd
1971 Bogan Rea
1970 Biarritz Star
1969 Roman Consul
1968 Illusionist
1967 Red Clinker
1966 Aldor
1965 Florida Keys
1964 Here I Come
1963 State Martial
1962 Grammar Lad
1961 Tipperary Star
1960 Dark Night
1959 Winchester
1958 Jester
1957 Juggler
1956 Evening Peal
1955 My Hali
1954 Regoli
1953 Nagpuni
1952 Osborne
1951 Aerofoil
1950 San Domenico
1949 Cognac
1948 Persian Prince
1947 Lackaboy
1946 Petulance
1945 Gay King
1944 not held
1943 not held
1942 not held
1941 Amiable
1940 Gold Rod

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers