Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Skyline Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Skyline Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Skyline Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Skyline Stakes.

One of the black type events for two year old colts & geldings hosted by the Australian Turf Club at Randwick Racecourse during the Sydney autumn racing carnival in March is the Skyline Stakes. The race was elevated from a Group 3 event to a Group 2 in August 2013.

2023 Skyline Stakes Race Details

Date Of The Skyline Stakes: 25/2/23

Venue For The Skyline Stakes: Randwick Racecourse

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Skyline Stakes: Ladbrokes

The Skyline Stakes is a Group 2 event held under set weights conditions with a number of promising juvenile sprinters travelling over 1200 metres of the Randwick track for a shot at prize money worth $200,000.The race was elevated from a Group 3 event to a Group 1 in August 2013.

For horses and their connections the Skyline Stakes is of great significance since the winner gains automatic entry to the Golden Slipper Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse, a month later.

In addition, the Skyline Stakes is a great platform for young colts and geldings seeking to prove their ability as sprinters over the following winter and spring carnivals. The female equivalent, the Group 2 Sweet Embrace Stakes is also scheduled on the same day while the major feature of the day is the Group 1 Randwick Guineas.

For most colts and geldings, the Skyline Stakes is their first test at an extended distance of 1200 metres. It is one of the races that offers trainers the chance to sort out their better performing sprinters that have the ability to tackle the Golden Slipper Stakes well.

Trainers have a number of routes to prepare their horses for the richest event for juveniles. The Group 2 Todman Stakes and the Pago Pago Stakes are among the other races that two year old colts and geldings may compete in at Rosehill as a lead up to the Golden Slipper.

Top Hat Joe was the winner of the first Skyline Stakes, a principal race in 1979. It remained a listed race between 1980 and 1986, after which it achieved Group 3 status. Among the classy sprinters to ensure a place in the Golden Slipper were Shogun Lodge in 1999, Dance Hero in 2004, Snitzel in 2005, and All American in 2008.

Skyline Stakes Past Winners

Year Winner
2017Diamond Tathagata
2016Good Standing
2013All The Talk
2009Manhattan Rain
2008All American
2006Casino Prince
2004Dance Hero
1999Shogun Lodge
1996Excel Pilot
1994Dr. Zackary
1993Allez Glen
1991Big Dreams
1990Our Horizon
1989Show County
1988Star Watch
1987Proven Valour
1986Pre Catelan
1984Hula Drum
1983Sir Dapper
1982Hot Opera
1980Cosmic Delight
1979Top Hat Joe

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers