Chipping Norton Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Chipping Norton Stakes run at the Warwick Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Chipping Norton stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Chipping Norton Stakes.

The Australian Turf Club hosts the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes at the Warwick Farm Racecourse in Sydney during the autumn racing carnival early in March. 

The mile event is run under weight for age conditions open to all horses with $600,000 going to the winners.

Often, the ATC hold the race at Randwick Racecourse if the condition of the track at Warwick Farm is unfavorable.

Many of the strongest gallopers have won the Chipping Norton Stakes on their way to greater glory. Champion stayer, Tie The Knot, winner of the 1999 edition of the Stakes and thirteen Group 1 races in 1999 alone, won four Chipping Norton Stakes in a row between 1999 and 2002.

The race is held along with the Group 2 Surround Stakes. Other major group race of the day is the Group 3 Liverpool City Cup.

Many of the strongest milers have made their way to the Chipping Norton Stakes via the Group 2 Apollo Stakes.

Some of the notable gallopers in this race have the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes on their agenda in their next outing with Tie The Knot in 2000 and 2001, Grand Armee in 2005, and Theseo in 2010 managing Chipping Norton/Ranvet Stakes double.

Other outstanding gallopers to win include Super Impose in 1991-92, Octagonal in 1997, and Lonhro in 2003. Katanga and Carbon Copy were early back to back winners while Bernborough added the Chipping Norton to his tally of 26 wins.

The mighty Phar Lap also added the title to his credit in 1930 while Tulloch and Rain Lover have also been the outstanding milers to win in 1960 and 1962 respectively.

The Chipping Norton Stakes, first run in 1925 remained a principal race until 1979 when it achieved Group 2 status.

The race attracted a strong line up of gallopers over the years, ultimately making it a Group 1 event in 1986.

For racegoers, the Chipping Norton Stakes ought to be a major form guide for the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap and Sydney Cup.

Winners are exempt from ballot for entry into both these hotly contested Group 1 races.

Year Chipping Norton Stakes Winners
2021 Verry Elleegant
2020 Te Akau Shark
2019 Winx
2018 Winx
2017 Winx
2016 Winx
 2015 Contributer 
2014 Boban
2013 Shoot Out
2012 Shoot Out
2011 Danleigh
2010 Theseo
2009 Tuesday Joy
2008 Casino Prince
2007 He's No Pie Eater
2006 Desert War
2005 Grand Armee
2004 Starcraft
2003 Lonhro
2002 Tie The Knot
2001 Tie The Knot
2000 Tie The Knot
1999 Tie The Knot
1998 Encounter
1997 Octagonal
1996 Juggler
1995 Pharaoh
1994 Telesto
1993 Kingston Bay
1992 Super Impose
1991 Super Impose
1990 Dr. Grace
1989 Flotilla
1988 Wong
1987 Our Waverley Star
1986 Heat Of The Moment
1985 Rising Prince
1984 Emancipation
1983 Dalmacia
1982 Vivacite
1981 Prince Ruling
1980 Embasadora
1979 Leonotis
1978 Grey Affair
1977 In Pursuit
1976 Taras Bulba
1975 Apollo Eleven
1974 Igloo
1973 Apollo Eleven
1972 Latin Knight
1971 Gay Icarus
1970 Great Exploits
1969 Rain Lover
1968 General Command
1967 Striking Force
1966 Prince Grant
1965 Bon Filou
1964 Maidenhead
1963 The Dip
1962 Sky High
1961 Valerius
1960 Tulloch
1959 Caesar
1958 Tulloch
1957 Mac's Amber
1956 Somerset Fair
1955 Carioca
1954 Gallant Archer
1953 Carioca
1952 Delta
1951 Comic Court
1950 Carbon Copy
1949 Carbon Copy
1948 Fresh Boy
1947 Vigaro
1946 Bernborough
1945 Katanga
1944 Katanga
1943 Veiled Threat
1942 not held
1941 Tranquil Star
1940 Reading
1939 Defaulter
1938 John Wilkes
1937 Lough Neagh
1936 Lough Neagh
1935 Rogilla
1934 Silver Scorn
1933 Lough Neagh
1932 Ammon Ra
1931 Chide
1930 Phar Lap
1929 Strephon
1928 Limerick
1927 Amounis
1926 Windbag
1925 Wallace Mortlake

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers