Furious Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Furious Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Furious Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Furious Stakes.

Falling under the regime of the Australian Turf Club is the Furious Stakes, a Group 2 race for 3 year old fillies, held under set weight conditions. This event is contested once a year at the famous Randwick Racecourse in Sydney.

The distance covered in the Furious Stakes is 1400 metres. This event is held only in September with prize money worth $200,000 up for grabs. The other Group 2 events held along with the Furious Stakes are the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes and the Group 2 Concorde Stakes.

The Furious Stakes was run for the first time at Randwick in 1986 and was won by a horse named La Cadeau. It began as a Listed Race and was run under the same banner until 1995 when it acquired Group 3 status. Later in 2005, it was granted its present Group 2 status.

There are various horses who have won both the Silver Shadow Stakes and the Furious Stakes double like Samantha Miss in 2008, Mnemosyne in 2005 and Victory Vein in 2002. On the other hand, the Furious Stakes and the Tea Rose Stakes has also been won by various horses like Samantha Miss in 2008, Mnemosyne in 2005, Prisoner Of Love in 2004, Shamekha in 2003 and Victory Vein in 2002. Horses like Unworldly in 2000, Danglissa in 1999 and Sunline in 1998 have won the treble event comprising of Furious Stakes, Tea Rose Stakes and Flight Stakes despite tough conditions.

The fastest finish time ever recorded in Furious Stakes history is 1:21.54 in 2009 by a horse named Melito while the slowest finish time ever recorded was 1:29 seconds in 1978 by a horse named Belle Jamie.

Those fillies who have earlier contested in the Group 3 Silver Shadow Stakes held at Warwick Farm often make their way to the Furious Stakes in September at Randwick racecourse. Most of the fillies who have participated in the Furious Stakes also take part in the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes held at Rosehill over a distance of 1500 metres and the Group 1 Flight Stakes held at Randwick racecourse over a distance of 1600 metres on the famous Epsom Handicap Day.

Notable winners of this event in recent years include Streama in 2011, More Strawberries in 2010 and Melito in 2009. Angst in 1993 and Samantha Miss, winner in 2008 are the two outstanding fillies to win the Princess Race Series which covers four events which include the Silver Shadow/Furious/Tea Rose/ and Flight Stakes.

Year Furious Stakes Winner
2020 Dame Giselle
2019 Libertini
2018 Pure Elation
2017 Formality
2016 Foxplay
2015 Speak Fondly
2014 Winx
2013 Bound For Earth
2012 Dear Demi
2011 Streama
2010 More Strawberries
2009 Melito
2008 Samantha Miss
2007 Not Held
2006 Just Dancing
2005 Mnemosyne
2004 Prisoner Of Love
2003 Shamekha
2002 Victory Vein
2001 Moonflute
2000 Unworldly
1999 Danglissa
1998 Sunline
1997 Stella Cadente
1996 Dashing Eagle
1995 Seattle Gem
1994 Danarani
1993 Angst
1992 Yodelay
1991 Bold Promise
1990 Twiglet
1989 Tristanagh
1988 Research
1987 Glory Girl
1986 La Cadeau
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers