Tea Rose Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Tea Rose Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Tea Rose Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Tea Rose Stakes.

The Australian Turf Club offers $200,000 in prize money for the Tea Rose Stakes, a 1400 metre set weights race for three year old fillies. The event is held in September during the spring racing carnival in Sydney.

The Group 2 race is held alongside the Group 1 George Main Stakes at the Randwick Racetrack in Sydney although it was held at Rosehill in 2011 due to renovations at Randwick .

The best three year old fillies will look to step up in Group racing with their eyes on the 1600 M Group 1 Flight Stakes held later at Randwick on the last day of the carnival. The Tea Rose Stakes is part of the Princess Series or races which also includes the Silver Shadow Stakes, Furious Stakes, and Flight Stakes.

The 1400 M Group 2 Furious Stakes held earlier at Randwick is the perfect lead up to the Tea Rose Stakes.

Statistics indicate that more than 75 percent winners have come via the Furious Stakes while more than 80 percent of fillies have gone on to win the Flight Stakes.

The race usually favours the stronger sprinter who is able to handle the extended distance and potentially conquer the mile later on in the season. Victory Vein in 2002, Shamekha in 2003, Prisoner Of Love in 2004, Mnemosyne in 2005, Samantha Miss in 2008, More Strawberries in 2010, and Streama in 2011 have all scored a Furious Stakes/Tea Rose Stakes double.

Punters ought to make the Tea Rose Stakes a handy form guide for Group 1 races for fillies in spring. Many place getters have gone on to finish well in the Flight Stakes as well.

Runner up in 2005, Fashions Afield won the Flight Stakes in her next run. Those who scored a double include Unworldly in 2000, Ha Ha in 2001, and Cheeky Choice in 2006. Samantha Miss achieved the feat in 2008, while More Joyous followed in 2009 and Streama in 2011.

Many fillies have gone on to score a Furious Stakes/Tea Rose Stakes/Flight Stakes treble. These include Sunline in 1998, Danglissa in 1999, Unworldly in 2000, Samantha Miss in 2008, and Streama in 2011. The two fillies to win the Princess Series are Angst in 1993 while Samantha Miss in 2008.

The first Tea Rose Stakes was a listed event in 1980. It became a Group 3 race in 1983 and was soon granted Group 2 status in 1985.

Year Tea Rose Stakes Winners
2020 Dame Giselle
2019 Funstar
2018 Miss Fabulass
2017 Alizee
2016 Foxplay
2015 Pearls
2014 First Seal
2013 Guelph
2012 Longport
2011 Streama
2010 More Strawberries
2009 More Joyous
2008 Samantha Miss
2007 Not Held
2006 Cheeky Choice
2005 Mnemosyne
2004 Prisoner Of Love
2003 Shamekha
2002 Victory Vein
2001 Ha Ha
2000 Unworldly
1999 Danglissa
1998 Sunline
1997 Stella Cadente
1996 Assertive Lass
1995 Pontal Lass
1994 Danarani
1993 Angst
1992 Burst
1991 Bold Promise
1990 Whisked
1989 Tristanagh
1988 Glenview
1987 Glory Girl
1986 Evandale Star
1985 Shinakima
1984 Premier Flight
1983 Sabre Dancer
1982 Emancipation
1981 Black Shoes
1980 Dark Eclipse

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers