Doncaster Handicap Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Doncaster Handicap run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Doncaster Handicap

Winners and Past Results for the Doncaster Handicap.

One of the premier races hosted by the Australian Turf Club during the Sydney autumn racing carnival in April is the Doncaster Handicap.

Also known as the Doncaster Mile, the 1600 metre event is a Group 1 open race held at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney.

3 million dollars are at stake in the race which attracts the strongest milers from across the nation. Other Group 1 races scheduled on the same day include the TJ Smith Stakes and the Australian Derby.

Top quality gallopers usually make their way to the Doncaster Handicap after a handy run in the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes held earlier at the Rosehill track. Racing To Win and Haradasun won the Ryder Stakes/Doncaster Handicap double in 2006 and 2007 respectively. Vision and Power also wrapped up both titles in 2009. Runner up in 2003, Grand Armee came into the event after scoring victory in the Ryder Stakes. In 2011, Love Conquers All was runner up in both races, proving its worth as a betting double.

The Doncaster Handicap is considered the autumn equivalent of the Group 1 Epsom Handicap held in spring. Interestingly, the race have favoured four year olds over the years in both events. Racing To Win was the last miler to win both the Epsom Handicap and Doncaster Handicap in 2006.

Some of the best horses have etched their name on the Doncaster Handicap since 1889. This includes Mildura, Blue Legend, Tudor Hill, Find And Dandy, Gunsynd, Super Impose, Pharaoh, Sunline, and Assertive Lad. Super Impose is the only horse to manage an Epsom Handicap/Doncaster Handicap double twice in 1990-91.

The Doncaster Handicap is amongst the prestigious races held during the autumn racing carnival which also includes Sydney Cup, Rosehill Guineas, and Golden Slipper Stakes.

The late TJ Smith trained seven winners and remains the most successful trainer followed closely by his daughter Gai Waterhouse.

Trainers Joe Pride and Chris Waller have saddled two winners each. Over the past two decades only five favourites have obliged punters which include Sunline, Racing To Win, and Haradsun among others. In 2011, Sacred Choice placed third in the 1600 meters Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes and fifth in the 2000 meter Group 1 Ranvet Stakes prior to winning the Doncaster Handicap.

Year Doncaster Handicap Winners
2020 Nettoyer
2019 Brutal
2018 Happy Clapper
2017 Its Somewhat
2016 Winx
2015 Kermadec 
2014 Sacred Falls
2013 Sacred Falls
2012 More Joyous
2011 Sacred Choice
2010 Rangirangdoo
2009 Vision And Power
2008 Triple Honour
2007 Haradasun
2006 Racing To Win
2005 Patezza
2004 Private Steer
2003 Grand Armee
2002 Sunline
2001 Assertive Lad
2000 Over
1999 Sunline
1998 Catalan Opening
1997 Secret Savings
1996 Sprint By
1995 Pharaoh
1994 Pharaoh
1993 Skating
1992 Soho Square
1991 Super Impose
1990 Super Impose
1989 Merimbula Bay
1988 Lygon Arms
1987 Magic Flute
1986 Hula Chief
1985 Row Of Waves
1984 Vite Cheval
1983 Emancipation
1982 My Gold Hope
1981 Lawman
1980 Iko
1979 Belmura Lad
1978 Maybe Mahal
1977 Just Ideal
1976 Authentic Heir
1975 Dalrello
1974 Tontonan
1973 Analie
1972 Gunsynd
1971 Rajah Sahib
1970 Broker's Tip
1969 Bye Bye
1968 Unpainted
1967 Tobin Bronze
1966 Citius
1965 Time And Tide
1964 Persian Puzzle
1963 Fine And Dandy
1962 Te Poi
1961 Fine And Dandy
1960 Tudor Hill
1959 Tudor Hill
1958 Grenoble
1957 Slogan II
1956 Slogan II
1955 Fire Dust
1954 Karendi
1953 Triclinium
1952 Prelate
1951 Oversight
1950 Grey Boots
1949 Bernbrook
1948 The Diver
1947 Blue Legend
1946 Blue Legend
1945 Abbeville
1944 Goose Boy
1943 Kingsdale
1942 Tuhitarata
1941 Mildura
1940 Mildura
1939 Gold Rod
1938 Hamurah
1937 Sarcherie
1936 Cuddle
1935 Hall Mark
1934 Chatham
1933 Winooka
1932 Jacko
1931 Sir Chrystopher
1930 Venetian Lady
1929 Karuma
1928 Simeon's Fort
1927 Don Moon
1926 Valicare
1925 Fujisan
1924 Whittier
1923 The Epicure
1922 Julia Grey
1921 Speciality
1920 Sydney Damsel
1919 Hem
1918 Dame Acre
1917 Wedding Day
1916 Eurobin
1915 Garlin
1914 First Principle
1913 Jolly Beggar
1912 Lochano
1911 Broadsword
1910 Storey
1909 Hyman
1908 Togo
1907 Istria
1906 Little Toy
1905 Famous
1904 Chere Amie
1903 Rose Petal
1902 Sir Foote
1901 Wakeful
1900 Parapet
1899 Vigorous
1898 Syerla
1897 Superb
1896 Courallie
1895 Delaware
1894 Donizetti
1893 Cremorne
1892 Marvel
1891 Paris
1890 Sir William
1889 Russley

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers