Concorde Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Concorde Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Concorde Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Concorde Stakes.

Hosted by the Australian Turf Club, the Concorde Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap open to all horses over 3 years old. 

The 1000 meter sprint is held at Randwick Racecourse towards the end of August or early September during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

Punters have other Group 2 races to look forward to on the day which include the Chelmsford Stakes and Furious Stakes. The race offers prize money worth $150,000, which has been bagged by some classy sprinters over the years.

The Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes held later at Rosehill is a likely race to field horses from the Concorde Stakes. Another race that follows is the Group 3 Cameron Handicap at Newcastle for which the Concorde Stakes may produce some runners. Raheeb, runner up in the 2008 Concorde Stakes won the Cameron Handicap in style while McClintock managed to run an impressive second in both races in 2009.

Earlier, runner up in 2006, Regal Cheer was placed third in the Theo Marks Stakes. An important lead up to the Concorde Stakes is the Group 3 Missile Stakes held at Randwick in August..

The first three Concorde Stakes between 1989 and 1991 saw quality sprinters clocking less than a minute. Alpine Flyer got the Stakes to a flying start with a record time of 0:59.4, West Dancer improved on the time in 1990 and finished in a record time of 0:57.8 seconds only to be eclipsed by Joanne in 1991, who crossed the finish line in 0:57.6 seconds. No horse has been able to break the record so far with the closest being Just Awesome in 1994 at 1:02.7 seconds.

Notable winners in recent times include Armidale in 1997, Private Steer in 2003, Red Oog in 2005, Typhoon Zed in 2008, Reward For Effort in 2010, and Decision Time in 2011, who ran full steam to finish in 1:02.8 seconds, leaving Winter King and Monton behind.

Year Concorde Stakes Winners
2020 Gytrash
2019 Redzel
2018 Redzel
2017 Redzel
2016 Felines
2015 Shiraz
2014 Wouldnt It Be Nice
2013 Decision Time
2012 Tiger Tees
2011 Decision Time
2010 Reward For Effort
2009 Friday Creek
2008 Typhoon Zed
2007 not held
2006 Mustard
2005 Red Oog
2004 Taikun
2003 Private Steer
2002 Fouardee
2001 Phoenix Park
2000 Condotti
1999 Guineas
1998 Confiscate
1997 Armidale
1996 not held
1995 Victoria Park
1994 Just Awesome
1993 Deposition
1992 Final Card
1991 Joanne
1990 West Dancer