TJ Smith Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

TJ Smith Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the TJ Smith Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the TJ Smith Stakes.

Hosted by the Australian Turf Club, the TJ Smith Stakes is a premier Group 1 weight for age sprint race held in April at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. Horses vie for 2.5 million dollars in prize money over a distance of 1200 metres. The race is worth 2.5 million dollars.

Scheduled on the same race card are the Group 1 AJC Australian Derby and AJC Sires Produce Stakes. The race attracts quality sprinters and favours the better performing horses that can take advantage of level weight conditions. The event is held in honour of legendary trainer Tommy Smith, and has become a major sprint race with trainers able to sort out their best sprinters who have the potential to take out major group races during the year.

Horses may come via the 1500 M Group 1 George Ryder Stakes held earlier at Rosehill Racecourse and the 1300 M Group 2 Canterbury Stakes also held at the Rosehill track. The 1200 M Group 1 William Reid Stakes held earlier at Moonee Valley Racecourse may also have a few horses making an entry in the TJ Smith Stakes. Black Caviar won the event on her way to scoring another blistering victory in the 2011 TJ Smith Stakes.

Horses may then go on and compete in the Group 1 All Aged Stakes over 1400 metres at the same track. The race is held on the final day of the Randwick carnival.

The first TJ Smith Stakes was a listed race held in 1997. It was elevated to Group 3 the very next year. The race soon began to attract the classy field, which led to it being promoted once again to Group 2 in 2002 and to Group 1 in 2005. Some of the top gallopers to win the TJ Smith include Bentley Biscuit, Apache Cat, Takeover Target, and Melito between 2007 and 2010, before Black Caviar stormed the tracks in 2011. The race is held in honour of legendary trainer TJ Smith. Punters ought to follow horses competing in the TJ Smith Stakes closely for the rest of the season.

Year TJ Smith Stakes Winners
2020 Nature Strip
2019 Santa Ana Lane
2018 Trapeze Artist
2017 Chautauqua
2016 Chautauqua 
2015 Chautauqua 
2014 Lankan Rupee
2013 Black Caviar
2012 Master Of Design
2011 Black Caviar
2010 Melito
2009 Takeover Target
2008 Apache Cat
2007 Bentley Biscuit
2006 Red Oog
2005 Shamekha
2004 Dilly Dally
2003 Spinning Hill
2002 Phoenix Park
2001 Century Kid
2000 Shy Hero
1999 Ab Initio
1998 La Baraka
1997 Mahogany

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers