Missile Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Missile Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Missile Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Missile Stakes.

Established in 1978 as a Group 2 race, the 1200 metre Missile Stakes is hosted by the Australian Turf Club at Randwick Racecourse in August during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

The Missile Stakes is run under weight for age conditions and offers $200,000 to the winning connections. 

It is the first group race of the carnival, and as such garners a lot of attention. The event is open to horses three years and above and always attracts a good field in different stages of preparation.

Horses that compete in the Missile Stakes are often having their first outing after a winter spell and look to start their spring campaign in Sydney and Melbourne on a good note. Sometimes, contestants come off a successful winter campaign, using the Missile Stakes as the last race before a spell.

History indicates that horses coming in from their winter campaign usually have an advantage over rested horses. In 2010, Love Conquers All used the June Stakes held at Randwick as a lead up event to the Missile Stakes, winning both races. The key to making sense of the field is to look at horses with a balance of fitness and freshness.

After this many horses will often compete in the 1400 M Group 2 Warwick Stakes held at Warwick Farm Racecourse, the 1600 M Chelmsford Stakes at the Randwick track, or the 1200 M Group 2 Premiere Stakes at the same venue. All the three events are weight for age events although distances vary.

Some horses such as German Chocolate in 2007 and Spark of Life in 2004 have gone on to win the Missile Stake and Premiere Stake double.

Some Missile Stakes winners have gone on to stamp their authority on the Australian race tracks. These include Commands in 1999, Lonhro in 2002, Pompeii in 2003, Dance Hero in 2005, and Love Conquers All in 2010.

Campaign King in 1987 and 1988, Joanne in 1991 and 1992, and Klokka in 1993 and 1994, are the notable gallopers with back to back victories.

The 2011 Missile Stakes was won by Rain Affair, who was sired by Commands. Rain Affair finished his season here with six wins in six handicaps he contested in. Winter King who came in second, just came out of his winter spell, and went on to finish runner up in the Group 3 Concorde Stakes at Warwick Farm, and finished third in the Group 2 The Shorts at Rosehill Garden Racecourse.

YearMissile Stakes Winner
2017Invincible Gem
2016Tycoon Tara
2014Sweet Idea
2013Rain Affair
2011Rain Affair
2010Love Conquers All
2008Captain Bax
2007German Chocolate
2005Dance Hero
2004Spark Of Life
1998Mr. Victory
1996Legal Agent
1995Brawny Spirit
1989Select Prince
1988Campaign King
1987Campaign King
1986Shankhill Lass
1985Row Of Waves
1984Plus Vite
1983Young Blood
1982Nordic Prince
1982Razor Sharp
1981not held

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers