Canterbury Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Canterbury Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Canterbury Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Canterbury Stakes.

The Canterbury Stakes is an Australian Turf Club Group 1 Australian horse race under weight for age.

The Canterbury Stakes, a Group 1 race held at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney on the same day as Group 1 Randwick Guineas.

Horses run 1300 metres to compete for prize money worth $500,000 and prove their ability to handle weight for age conditions. The other plus point for the winner is a ballot exemption in the George Ryder Stakes. The race attracts an above average field of gallopers with some of the biggest names passing through the Canterbury Stakes.

The Group 1 George Ryder Stakes held on Rosehill Guineas day serves as a warm up for some of the horses leading up to the Canterbury Stakes. 

Horses first took to the track in the Canterbury Stakes in 1929. Held as a principal race, a horse named Amounis is recorded as the first winner. Holdfast literally held on to the trophy for the next three years from 1930-32. San Domenico was the next to pick up two titles in 1950-51 followed by At Sea in 1988-89. The race was awarded Group 2 status in 1979.

Among the outstanding sprinters to win the Canterbury Stakes include Manikato in 1982, Miss Kariba in 1995, Shogun Lodge in 2001, Dance Hero in 2005, and Hot Danish in 2010. Love Conquers All, second in 2011, ran a spirited race in the Doomben 10000 losing only by a nose to Beaded. He also finished as runner up in the George Ryder Stakes and the $2 million Doncaster Handicap at Randwick Racecourse as well.

Year Canterbury Stakes Winners
2021 Savatiano
2020 The Bostonian
2019 Trapeze Artist
2018 Happy Clapper
2017 Le Romain
2016 Holler
2015 Cosmic Endeavour
2014 Appearance
2013 Pierro
2012 More Joyous
2011 More Joyous
2010 Hot Danish
2009 All Silent
2008 Mentality
2007 Malcolm
2006 Paratroopers
2005 Dance Hero
2004 Yell
2003 Defier
2002 Empire
2001 Shogun Lodge
2000 Easy Rocking
1999 Kidman's Cove
1998 Quick Flick
1997 All Our Mob
1996 Sprint By
1995 Miss Kariba
1994 Al Akbar
1993 Big Dreams
1992 Alishan
1991 Show County
1990 Straussbrook
1989 At Sea
1988 At Sea
1987 Placid Ark
1986 Avon Angel
1985 Chimes Square
1984 Sir Dapper
1983 Emancipation
1982 Manikato
1981 Turf Ruler
1980 Stage Hit
1979 Bernard
1978 not held
1977 Romantic Dream
1976 Hartshill
1975 Leica Show
1974 Favoured
1973 I'm Scarlet
1972 Playbill
1971 Baguette
1970 Broker's Tip
1969 Fair Law
1968 Cabochon
1967 Prince Max
1966 Academy Star
1965 Aureo
1964 Eskimo Prince
1963 Kevejon
1962 Sky High
1961 Sky High
1960 Wanton Lass
1959 Up And Coming
1958 not held
1957 Prince Jambo
1956 Starover
1955 Star Realm
1954 Iroquois
1953 Regoli
1952 Joy Lad
1951 San Domenico
1950 San Domenico
1949 Bernbrook
1948 Gay Monarch
1947 Shannon
1946 Good Idea
1945 Sleepy Fox
1944 Tea Rose
1943 Katanga
1942 Yaralla
1941 Reading
1940 Beaulivre
1939 Beau Vite
1938 Gold Rod
1937 The Marne
1936 Arachne
1935 Bulldozer
1934 Lough Neagh
1933 Chatham
1932 Holdfast
1931 Holdfast
1930 Holdfast
1929 Amounis

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers