George Ryder Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

George Ryder Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the George Ryder Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the George Ryder Stakes.

Australian Turf Club hosts the George Ryder Stakes, which is a Group 1 race for 3 year old horses and upwards.

The event is held annually at Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales and is run under weight for age conditions.

The race suits stronger sprinters and middle distance runners that travel over 1500 metres for prize money worth $1,000,000.

The classic sprint race is held during the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival a week before the Golden Slipper Day which is the biggest day observed by the Club.

Other races which are organized on the same day are the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas and Group 1 The Galaxy leaving punters with a large spread and the hopes of making up on any losses.

The winner is exempt from ballot for the prestigious Doncaster Handicap. In 2011, rank outsider Rangirangdoo caused a major upset with front runner Love Conquers All relegated to second place, followed by Triple Elegance.

The George Ryder Stakes was held for the first time in 1903 over a distance of 6 furlongs. It was then a Principal Race and remained so till 1979. Due to a number of top performers entering the fray, the George Ryder Stakes was awarded Group 1 status in 1980. The distance has also been increased gradually over the years and has been a 15000 metre race since 1986. Manikato in 1980 became the first George Ryder Stakes winner to reach the winning post in a record time of 1:21.6.

The George Ryder Stakes has witnessed some of the finest sprinters and milers score remarkable victories on the Rosehill track.

The Group 2 Canterbury Stakes usually serves as a form guide for the George Ryder Stakes. Gallopers that perform well in this event may also tackle other races like the Group 1 AJC Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Group 1 All Aged Stakes and the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap.

Grand Armee, runner up in 2003, was victorious in the Doncaster Handicap. Racing To Win in 2006, Haradasun in 2007, and Vision And Power in 2009 scored a George Ryder Stakes/Doncaster Handicap double.

Among the brilliant horses to win the George Ryder Stakes include Schillaci in 1993, Lonhro with back to back victories in 2003-04, and Emancipation, earlier in 1983-84. 2011 winner Rangirangdoo ran fourth in the Group 2 Canterbury Stakes prior to winning the event.

Year George Ryder Stakes Winners
2020 Dreamforce
2019 Winx
2018 Winx
2017 Winx
2016 Winx
2015 Real Impact
2014 Gordon Lord Byron
2013 Pierro
2012 Metal Bender
2011 Rangirangdoo
2010 Danleigh
2009 Vision And Power
2008 Weekend Hussler
2007 Haradasun
2006 Racing To Win
2005 Court's In Session
2004 Lonhro
2003 Lonhro
2002 Lord Essex
2001 Landsighting
2000 Al Mansou
1999 Referral
1998 Quick Flick
1997 Mouawad
1996 Ravarda
1995 March Hare
1994 Telesto
1993 Schillaci
1992 Kinjite
1991 Bureaucracy
1990 Straussbrook
1989 Wong
1988 Campaign King
1987 Campaign King
1986 Heat Of The Moment
1985 Hula Drum
1984 Emancipation
1983 Emancipation
1982 Pure Of Heart
1981 Prince Ruling
1980 Manikato
1979 Manikato
1978 Command Module
1977 Pacific Ruler
1976 Superior Air
1975 Dalrello
1974 Itchy Feet
1973 All Shot
1972 Triton
1971 Baguette
1970 Boy Dandy
1969 Foresight
1968 Foresight
1967 Time And Tide
1966 Rakaia
1965 Rush Bye
1964 Time And Tide
1963 Prince Regoli
1962 Prince Regoli
1961 Grecian Vale
1960 Man Of Iron
1959 Book Link
1958 Chieti
1957 New Spec
1956 King's Fair
1955 Gay Vista
1954 Carioca
1953 Regoli
1952 Coniston
1951 Drastic
1950 Buzmark
1949 Comedy Prince
1948 Heroic Sovereign
1947 Tamaroa
1946 Bragger
1945 Melhero
1944 Warlock
1943 Triad
1942 not held
1941 Evergreen
1940 Cigarette
1939 Bramol
1938 Mohican
1937 Cereza
1936 Gay Blonde
1935 Sarcherie
1935 High
1934 Leila Vale
1933 Whittingham
1932 Myles La Coplen
1931 Casque D'Or
1930 Sir Chrystopher
1930 Greenline
1929 Cleave
1928 Vaals
1928 Ascalon
1927 Fujisan
1927 Cavedweller
1926 Lausanne
1925 Encre
1925 Valiant
1924 Claro
1923 Naharadan
1923 Volpi
1922 Sir Maitland
1922 Braehead
1921 Beauford
1920 Chrysolaus
1919 Hem
1918 Dame Acre
1917 Spurn
1916 Gold Brew
1915 Eugeny
1914 Sunlike
1913 not held
1912 Miocene
1911 Maltster Maid
1910 Vauntie
1909 Microscope
1908 Lord Merv
1907 Thalaba
1906 Zythos
1905 Lucknow
1904 Marvel Loch
1903 Cressy

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers