Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Wangaratta Racecourse Details & Map | Wangaratta Racecourse

Wangaratta Racecourse, Wangaratta Turf Club. Description and details including a map of the racecourse.

Wangaratta Racecourse is at Osboldstone Road, Wangaratta, Vic and is home to Wangaratta Turf Club.

Racing began in 1845 at North Wangaratta, ten years later the club moved to its present site. Wangaratta is situated approximately 235 km's from Melbourne on the four lane Hume Highway (31).

The Wangaratta Racecourse was designed on similar lines to Flemington Racecourse.

Years ago included in the racing programs were pony races, hurdle races and steeplechases, with a water jump in front of the grandstand.

The first Wangaratta Cup was run in 1904 at Wangaratta Racecourse, before that time the premier race was called a plate.

St Patrick's Wangaratta Racing Club also used this track for their charity meetings from 1923-2003 and staged the first all grey horse race in Victoria at Wangaratta, and also the first Sunday meeting in the area on this track.

In 1985 the Wangaratta Turf Club was one of the first Victorian country clubs invited to race on Melbourne Cup Day, which has proven to be a bonanza for the club.

Wangaratta Turf Club holds 10 race meetings per year.


PO Box 364,
Victoria 3676
Ph. (03) 5722 1242
M: 0407 753224
Email: p.hoysted@countryracing.com.au

The Wangaratta Cup is now run in April. Two horses have won the Wangaratta Cup twice, Sarakos 1935 & 1936, Here's Cheers 1971 & 1972.

Wangaratta Turf Club welcomes new and old members and they would be delighted to receive your application or personal enquiry. Annual Membership - $55 (inc GST)

Racecourse Details:

Wangaratta Racecourse has a track circumference of 1730 metres and a home straight being 300 metres long.

The width of the track is 20 metres, the track is grassed with kikuya on a sandy loam soil heavily oversown with rye grass. The drainage system has been upgraded in recent years with automatic watering. The track is undulating with a drop of 14-feet from the 1000 metres to the 600 metres then rises 3 metres to the winning post.

There are two chutes, one for 1600 metre races and one for races over 1000 metres - 1170 metres, all races cater for 14 starters. There are 3 training tracks, one grass, one sand and the other dirt. Two dams and an automatic watering system help keep the tracks in order.

Nearby Racetracks include Corowa Racecourse, Benalla Racecourse and Wodonga Racecourse.

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia
Highly Recommended
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing
Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Unibet AU Logo
Racing Bet
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
T+C Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Check All Offers