Bobbie Lewis Quality Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Bobbie Lewis Quality run at the Flemington Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Bobbie Lewis Quality

Winners and Past Results for the Bobbie Lewis Quality.

The Bobbie Lewis Quality hosted by the Victoria Racing Club is an open race for four years olds and upwards.

The event is a Group 3 Australian quality handicap that attracts a field of handy sprinters over a distance of 1200 meters. The event is run at the Flemington Racecourse during the spring racing carnival in Melbourne.

$200,000 awaits the winner of the Bobbie Lewis Quality which is run on the same day as the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes, Danehill Stakes, and Let's Elope Stakes.

Strong contenders in the race usually head for major races during the autumn racing carnival which include the Group 1 Emirates Stakes and Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes. It is also a lead up race for horses entering the Yallambee Stakes, Toorak Handicap, and Newmarket Handicap.

The Aurie's Star Handicap, held on the first day of the spring carnival is usually a warm up race for horses that gain acceptance in the Bobbie Lewis Quality. A horse named Citadel was the first winner of the Bobbie Lewis Quality held in 1974. It remained a principal race until 1978 and was then held as a listed race until it achieved Group 3 status in 1986.

The only notable sprinter to score back to back double was Bon Hoffa in 2007 and 2008. Other horses to score impressive victories include Soldier of Fortune in 1981, Taj Quillo in 1986, Hareeba in 1994, El Mirada in 1998, Titanic Jack in 2003, Doubtful Jack in 2010, and Lone Rock in 2011.

The Bobbie Lewis Quality at Flemington usually attracts a field of handy sprinters especially horses that fancy straight tracks. The 2011 winner, Lone rock was placed fifth over a distance of 1000 meters in the Spring Review at Moonee Valley Racecourse prior to scoring a last minute upset in the Bobbie Lewis Quality.

Placed second in 2009, Gold Salute went on to lift the Zambari Handicap. A barrier mishap prevented him from competing in front for the Rupert Clarke Stakes. However, Gold Salute secured a place in the Group 1 Toorak Handicap and Emirates Stakes. Third placed in the Bobbie Lewis Quality in 2008, Orange County, two weeks later retained form to win the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes.

Four year old Jason Warren trained Bel Sprinter, the favourite who ran second in the 2011 Quality was undefeated from four starts, coming into the event with a win in a Listed sprint race at Caulfield.

Year Bobbie Lewis Quality Winners
2020 Zoutori
2019 Zoutori
2018 Dothraki
2017 Redkirk Warrior
2016 Faatinah
2015 Churchill Dancer
2014 Chautauqua
2013 Speediness
2012 We're Gonna Rock
2011 Lone Rock
2010 Doubtful Jack
2009 Swift Alliance
2008 Bon Hoffa
2007 Bon Hoffa
2006 Bel Danoro
2005 Wildly
2004 Face Value
2003 Titanic Jack
2002 Chong Tong
2001 Scenic Peak
2000 Ruthless Tycoon
1999 Le Zagaletta
1998 El Mirada
1997 Great Condor
1996 Temperate Pug
1995 Cut Up Rough
1994 Hareeba
1993 Golden Sword
1992 Holiday Lover
1991 Street Ruffian
1990 Rare Chance
1989 Undoubted
1988 Placid Ark
1987 Special
1986 Taj Quillo
1985 Base Fee
1984 Sports Ruler
1983 Stellina
1982 Magari
1981 Soldier Of Fortune
1980 Mr. Magic
1979 Bit Of A Skite
1978 Quiet Snort
1977 Nearest
1976 Fiesta Palace
1975 Dark Ruler
1974 Citadel

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers