Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

Hobart Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Hobart Cup run at the Elwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Hobart Cup

Winners and Past Results for the Hobart Cup.

The Hobart Cup is an open handicap race hosted by Tasmanian Racing Club at Hobart Racecourse in Hobart each year in February during the Tasmanian summer racing carnival.

The Group 3 Hobart Cup will return to a distance of 2400 metres as from 2013.The feature event of the Summer Carnival will return to its traditional trip after approval was given from the Australian Pattern Committee (APC) to increase the distance from 2200 metres.

From 2013 horses will  travel a distance of 2400 metres in this Group 3 event for a chance to take home prize money worth $250,000.

The Hobart Cup is a major event on the social calendar in the city and among the only three group races held in Tasmania, which also includes the Group 3 Launceston Cup and Bow Mistress Stakes. The premier staying event brings out the best local stayers with a few interstate horses adding to the competition.

Although not a race tackled by high quality stayers, the Hobart Cup does boast of a few winners of major Group 1 races held later during the Sydney autumn racing carnival. After winning the 2007 edition of the Hobart Cup, Blutigeroo ran fifth in the Group 1 Australian Cup at Flemington Racecourse, one of the major follow up races for stayers that perform well in the Hobart Cup, and then scored an impressive win in the Group 1 The BMW over an extended distance of 2400 metres at the Rosehill racetrack. Other races that horses may aim for includes the gruelling Group 1 Sydney Cup over 3200 metres at Randwick in April.

Top performers in Hobart Cup may look to repeat their performance in the Group 3 Launceston Cup at Launceston a few weeks later. St. Andrews in 2002, Zacielo in 2004, and third placed Itsa Kareem in 2008 went on to win at Launceston. 2009 runner up, Zavite, also took home the Launceston Cup. Horses may come from a variety of handicap and listed races. Bid Spotter finished third in the 2011 Australia Day Cup, a listed race over 2200 metres at Warwick Farm before winning here. Ella won the first Hobart Cup back in 1875.

The Hobart Cup remained a principal race until 1980 when it was granted Group 3 status by Tasmanian Racing Club. Between 2004 and 2006 it enjoyed the status of a Group 2 event but has been a Group 3 race ever since.

The other feature of the day is the Listed Hobart Guineas run over 2100 metres. Offenbach in 2008, Gotta Keep Cool in 2009, and Growl in 2010 are among the recent winners. In earlier times, several horses scored back to back victories in the Hobart Cup.

Year Hobart Cup Winners
2021 Double You Tee
2020 Toorak Affair
2019 Eastender
2018 Pretty Punk
2017 Count Da Vinci
2016 Up Cups
 2015 Geegees Blackflash
2014 Epingle
2013 Hurdy Gurdy Man
2012 Geegees Blackflash
2011 Bid Spotter
2010 Growl
2009 Gotta Keep Cool
2008 Offenbach
2007 Blutigeroo
2006 True Courser
2005 Our Dashing Dane
2004 Zacielo
2003 Jeune's Mark
2002 St. Andrews
2001 Brorama Star
2000 Lord Baracus
1999 Future Shock
1998 L'Espion
1997 Palos Verdes
1996 Jam City
1995 Courtly Way
1994 Southern States
1993 Frontier Boy
1992 Russian Rogue
1991 Have A Heart
1990 Firetap
1989 Nakagima
1988 Brisque
1987 Cylai
1986 Dark Intruder
1985 Macbyrne
1984 Viscount Geoffrey
1983 Palomine
1982 Powerful Prince
1981 Andrias
1980 Strident King
1979 Kubla Khan
1978 Clean Heels
1977 Brallos
1976 Brallos
1975 Lord Pascoe
1974 Knee High
1973 Sir Trutone
1972 Piping Lane
1971 Trial And Error
1970 Dark Purple
1969 Delarus
1968 Bounteous
1967 Haughty Boy
1966 Sailing Prince
1965 Macdalla
1964 Macdalla
1963 Volterra
1962 Great Singer
1961 Welton
1960 Orden
1959 King's Thane
1958 Legismars
1957 Buzzie
1956 Seriki
1955 Seriki
1954 Sea Wolf
1953 Sir Legis
1952 Royal Release
1951 Tarcombe
1950 English
1949 The Artist
1948 Evade
1947 Wingfire
1946 Paramene
1945 Gaelane
1944 Thurso Bay
1943 Lord Saltash
1942 Maco Roni
1941 Mercator
1940 El Nene
1939 Maco Roni
1938 Stylish Lady
1937 Royalty
1936 Coolart
1935 Sunbronze
1934 Song Of Solomon
1933 Air Favourite
1932 Billy Barton
1931 Royal Simon
1930 Tarapunga
1929 Prince Viol
1928 Roonsleigh
1927 Roonsleigh
1926 Royal Simon
1925 Pukka
1924 Llanthony
1923 Binbi
1922 Ouverte
1921 Talisman
1920 Nadir Shah
Trusty Blade
1919 Prince Moeraki
1918 Ladino
1917 Sea Pink
1916 Polska
1915 Defence
1914 Delphic
1913 Belove
1912 Flavel
1911 Bolan
1910 Eighteen Carat
1909 Jack Smith
1908 Admirer
1907 Viola
1906 Postulate
1905 Newmarket
1904 Proceeder
1903 Chesterfield
1902 Progredior
1901 Timbrel
1900 Eiridsdale
1899 Flintlock
1898 Rosella
1897 Benedict
1896 Lena
1895 Music
1894 Amadeus
1893 Pauline
1892 Hopetoun
1891 Lapstone
1890 Macquarie
1889 Chaldean
1888 Ballarat
1887 Maori Chief
1886 Duration
1885 Ringwood
1884 King Of The Vale
1883 The Assyrian
1882 The Marchioness
1881 Monarque
1880 Avernus
1879 Lord Harry
1878 Swiveller
1877 Spark
1876 Strop
1875 Ella

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers