Victoria Handicap Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Victoria Handicap run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Victoria Handicap

Winners and Past Results for the Victoria Handicap.

The Victoria Handicap is a Group 3 race hosted by Melbourne Racing Club held on Easter Saturday every year.

In the Victoria Handicap horses travel a distance of 1400 metres of the Caulfield track under handicap conditions for a shot at prize money worth $150,000.

The other Group 3 race held on the day is the Easter Cup.

The sprint race often attracts better performing interstate gallopers rather than the classier types who tend to remain in Sydney for the bigger events. Picking a winner can be a daunting task at times since gallopers of varying ability usually make their way to the Victoria Handicap.

The Listed Moonee Valley Quality is one of the likely warm up events before the Victoria Handicap although there are a number of listed handicap events held around this time.

Ungar won the first Victoria Handicap as a principal race in 1949. Schaparo was recorded as the first winner as a Group 3 event in 1980. Debrief won in 2002 and came back strongly again the next year while Jet Fighter scored back to back victories earlier in 1987-88.

The event was elevated from its initial Principal race status to a prestigious Group 3 race in 1980.

Year Victoria Handicap Winners
2020 Bam's On Fire
2019 Streets Of Avalon
2018 Widgee Turf
2017 Hooked
2016 Black Heart Bart
2015 Watermans Bay
2014 Sistine Demon
2013 Budriguez
2012 Smokin’ Joey
2011 Red Colussus
2010 Orbit Express
2009 Masked Assasin
2008 Gotta Have Heart
2007 Stickpin
2006 Volitant
2005 Roman Arch
2004 Regal Roller
2003 Debrief
2002 Debrief
2001 Keeper
2000 Go Flash Go
1999 El Mirada
1998 Rustic Dream
1997 Lord Luskin
1996 Country Lane
1995 Simple As That
1994 Mister Elegant
1993 Surtee
1992 The Fount
1991 Solemn Oath
1990 Prince Ormenium
1989 Aisle
1988 Jet Fighter
1987 Jet Fighter
1986 Aiming
1985 Mendeara Etoile
1984 Kalimna Queen
1983 Hooplahannah
1982 Qubeau
1981 Aquatorial
1980 Schaparo
1979 Bit Of A Skite
1978 Money Talks
1977 Golden Fantasy
1976 Man-A-Million
1975 Kenmark
1974 Cut And Deal
1973 Nicopal
1972 Abdul
Count Karl
1971 Romantic Son
1970 Tauto
1969 Abebe
1968 Ammate
1967 Snub
1966 Kaminyarr
1965 Samson
1964 Nicopolis
1963 Highmara
1962 Webster
1961 Fuss
1960 Correct
1959 Count Tassia
1958 Lord
1957 Parvo
1956 Brocken
1955 St. Joel
1954 Burdindi
1953 Pure Fire
1952 Joyance
1951 Savoy
1950 Star Port
1949 Ungar
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers