Futurity Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Futurity Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Futurity Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Futurity Stakes

One of the prime races held by the Melbourne Racing Club is the Futurity Stakes. Run over a distance of 1400 metres at the Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, the race is held during the autumn carnival in February each year.

The Futurity Stakes is a Group 1 event with no age restrictions held under weight for age conditions. The winner takes home half a million dollars in prize money. Only the country's best jockeys and horses are known to compete in this prestigious race. The Hong Kong Jockey Club, the Japan Racing Association, the Melbourne Racing Club and the Dubai Racing Club come forward and jointly organise this Futurity Stakes.

Notable is that the Futurity Stakes marks the beginning of the first leg of the four-race international series of the Asian Mile Challenge worth $12.5 million. The 2011 winner of the Futurity Stakes was the dare devil More Joyous. Whobegotyou and Dao Dao secured the second and third place respectively.

The Futurity Stakes was first won by a horse named Resolute in 1897 in which horses ran over a distance of seven furlongs. It was then a Principal Race and remained so till 1979. During the period 1973 to 1979, it was run over a distance of 1400 metres. In 1980, it was elevated to its present Group 1 status. Ajax, the Futurity Stakes winner in 1938, won the event three times consecutively between 1938 and 1940. However, Ajax was not the only one to win this event three times consecutively as Manikato followed suit with four titles in 1979 to 1981 and also in 1983.

The Group 1 CF Orr Stakes which is held in February at the Caulfield race track under weight for age conditions is generally a stepping stone for horses seeking to make it big in the prestigious Futurity Stakes. Contestants in this event may participate in the Group 1 Australian Cup held at the Flemington Racecourse the following month. The winners who have really made this event a glorious one in the recent years include More Joyous in 2011, Typhoon Tracy in 2010 and Niconero in 2008 and 2009.

The weight for age conditions in the Futurity Stakes favour in form horses. The 1200 M Group 2 Breeders Classic held earlier at Randwick presents a good form guide for the Futurity Stakes with More Joyous winning in style prior to lifting the Futurity Stakes.

Year Futurity Stakes Winners
2020 Streets Of Avalon
2019 Alizee
2018 Brave Smash
2017 Black Heart Bart
2016 Turn Me Loose
2015 Suavito 
2014 Moment Of Change
2013 All Too Hard
2012 King Mufhasa
2011 More Joyous
2010 Typhoon Tracy
2009 Niconero
2008 Niconero
2007 Aqua D'Amore
2006 Fields Of Omagh
2005 Regal Roller
2004 Reset
2003 Yell
2002 Dash For Cash
2001 Mr. Murphy
Desert Sky
2000 Testa Rossa
1999 Rustic Dream
1998 Encounter
1997 Mouawad
1996 Star Dancer
1995 Schillaci
1994 Primacy
1993 Schillaci
1992 Mannerism
1991 Redelva
1990 Ark Regal
1989 Zeditave
1988 Vo Rogue
1987 Rubiton
1986 Campaign King
1985 Vite Cheval
1984 Red Tempo
1983 Manikato
1982 Galleon
1981 Manikato
1980 Manikato
1979 Manikato
1978 Always Welcome
1977 Bonfield
1976 King's Helmet
1975 Martindale
1974 Idolou
1973 Idolou
1972 Gunsynd
1971 Silver Spade
1970 Crewman
1969 Magic Ruler
1968 Prince Romantic
1967 Cendrillon
1966 Star Affair
1965 Sir Dane
1964 Future
1963 Wenona Girl
1962 Aquanita
1961 Sky High
1960 Todman
1959 Lord
1958 Zariba
1957 Parvo
1956 The Orb
1955 Prince Cortauld
1954 Sir Isfahan
1953 Bob Cherry
1952 San Domenico
1951 Iron Duke
1950 St. Razzle
1949 St. Razzle
1948 Royal Gem
1947 Attley
1946 Bernborough
1945 Drum Net
1944 Counsel
1943 Zonda
1942 Burrabil
1941 High Caste
1940 Ajax
1939 Ajax
1938 Ajax
1937 Gold Rod
1936 Regular Bachelor
1935 Heros
1934 Waltzing Lily
1933 Winooka
1932 Ammon Ra
1931 Phar Lap
1930 Amounis
1929 Mollison
1928 Gothic
1927 Waranton
1926 Top Gallant
1925 Father's Voice
1924 The Hawk
1923 Salatis
1922 Eurythmc
1921 not held
1920 Gold Tie
1919 Lucknow
1918 Wedge
1917 Balarang
1916 Maharajah
1915 Flash Of Steel
1914 Brattle
1913 Eudorus
1912 Popinjay
1911 Blairgour
1910 Comedy King
1909 Soultline
1908 Antonio
1907 Corroboree
1906 Gladsome
1905 Gladsome
1904 Playaway
1903 Sir Leonard
1902 Sir Foote
1901 Aurous
1900 Palmer
1899 Bobadil
1898 Resolute

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers