St George Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

St George Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the St George Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the St George Stakes.

Held under the aegis of the Melbourne Racing Club, the St. George Stakes is a Group 2 weight for age race held at the end of February at the beginning of the autumn racing carnival.

The 1800 metre race is held at Caulfield Racecourse on Blue Diamond Stakes day. Other features on the day's card include the Group 1 Futurity Stakes and Oakleigh Plate. Horses compete over 1800 metres of the Caulfield circuit for prize money worth $200,000. The race attracts a number of promising milers that seek to improve the staying ability with an eye on the Group 1 Australian Cup at Flemington Racecourse in March.

Horses may contest in a number of mile and long distance group races prior to entering the St. George Stakes. The Group 1 CF Orr Stakes held earlier during the carnival is among the lead up events in the weight for age group, which horses may tackle prior to the St. George Stakes.

The Group 1 Australian Cup held at Flemington on Super Saturday may be next on the cards for in form gallopers although top place getters in the St. George Stakes have not fared well in the Australian Cup in recent times. However, some of the earlier topliners including Vo Rogue, Let's Elope, Durbridge, Dane Ripper, Istidaad, and in recent times Northerly in 2002-03, Theseo in 2003, Lonhro in 2004, and Pompeii Ruler in 2007, continued their fine form to win the Australian Cup as well.

Since the first St. George Stakes in 1900 several horses have won consecutive titles which include Comic Court, Lord, Dhaulagiri, Rain Lover, Vo Rogue, Durbridge, and Northerly being the last to achieve the feat. Among the outstanding talent is the mighty Phar Lap who also won way back in 1931. The race has enjoyed Group 2 status since 1979.

Year St. George Stakes Winners
2020 Miss Siska
2019 Avilius
2018 Gailo Chop
2017 Stratum Star
2016 Bow Creek
2015 Mourinho 
2014 Fiorente
2013 Foreteller
2012 Lucas Cranach
2011 Heart Of Dreams
2010 La Rocket
2009 Theseo
2008 Princess Coup
2007 Pompeii Ruler
2006 Our Smoking Joe
2005 Elvstroem
2004 Lonhro
2003 Northerly
2002 Northerly
2001 Cent Home
2000 Royal Voyage
1999 Istidaad
1998 Dane Ripper
1997 Istidaad
1996 Racer's Edge
1995 Durbridge
1994 Durbridge
1993 Star Of The Realm
1992 Let's Elope
1991 Sydeston
1990 King's High
1989 Vo Rogue
1988 Vo Rogue
1987 Foxseal
1986 Mrs. Fitzherbet
1985 Torbek
1984 Penny Edition
1983 Getting Closer
1982 Lawman
1981 My Brown Jug
1980 Minuetto
1979 Quiet Snort
1978 Unaware
1977 Ashbah
1976 Leilani
1975 Leilani
1974 Sobar
1973 Longfella
1972 Cyron
1971 Gay Icarus
1970 Rain Lover
1969 Rain Lover
1968 Winfreux
1967 Tobin Bronze
1966 Light Fingers
1965 Yangtze
1964 Sometime
1963 Aquanita
1962 Dhaulagiri
1961 Dhaulagiri
1960 Lord
1959 Lord
1958 Prince Darius
1957 Redcraze
1956 Somerset Fair
1955 Flying Halo
1954 Cromis
1953 Hydrogen
1952 Delta
1951 Comic Court
1950 Comic Court
1949 Carbon Copy
1948 Valcurl
1947 Attley
1946 Flight
1945 Tranquil Star
1944 Tranquil Star
1943 Sun Valley
1942 High Caste
1941 Tranquil Star
1940 High Caste
1939 Ajax
1938 Hua
1937 Young Idea
1936 Cuddle
1935 Farndale
1934 Danilo
1933 Eastern Chief
1932 Ammon Ra
1931 Phar Lap
1930 Amounis
1929 Black Duchess
1928 Black Duchess
1927 Heroic
1926 Whittier
1925 The Hawk
1924 The Hawk
1923 Easingwold
1922 Eurythmic
1921 not held
1920 Artilleryman
1919 Mistico
1918 Desert Gold
1917 Patrobas
1916 Cyklon
1915 Land Of Song
1914 Jolly Beggar
1913 Cider
1912 Trafalgar
1911 Comedy King
1910 Alawa
1909 Soultline
1908 Mountain King
1907 Ellis
1906 Lady Wallace
1905 Billingsgate
1904 Scottish King
1903 Footbolt
1902 Wakeful
1901 Clean Sweep
1900 Parthian

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers