Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Manfred Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Manfred Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. The race was elevated from a Listed Race to a Group 3 race in August 2013. Prize money for the event is now worth $160,000 and takes place on the same day as the Group 3 MRC Chairman's Stakes.

Winners and Past Results for the Manfred Stakes

The Group 3 Manfred Stakes is held at Caulfield Racecourse under the administration of the Melbourne Racing Club. It is for three-year-olds and is run at set weights over 1200 metres.

Prize money for the Manfred Stakes is worth $200,000.

2023 Manfred Stakes Race Details

Date Of The Manfred Stakes: 4/2/23

Venue For The Manfred Stakes: Caulfield Racecourse

Time Of The Manfred Stakes: TBA

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Manfred Stakes: Ladbrokes

History of the Manfred Stakes

The race was first run in 1968 and was named in honour of the horse Manfred that was a big winner in 1925 and 1926 as the winner of the W S Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup, Australian Jockey Club Derby and Victoria Derby. All four were Principal races at the time and are now classified as Group 1 races.

It was known as the Manfred Stakes from the first year through 1978 until fizzy drink maker Schweppes added its name to the race in some form from 1979 through 2005.

The Manfred Stakes was called the Wellington Racing Club Stakes from 2007 through 2010. Why a Victorian race accepted a New Zealand racing club for a namesake is a head-scratcher, until sponsorship money is factored into the mix.

It is, from 2011, the Manfred Stakes again.

It was considered a Principal race from its inception until the Group classification system came along. It was declared Group 3 level in 1979 and remained so until 1991, when it was relegated to Listed status, where it remained through 2013, when it was bumped back to Group 3.

There have been many changes to the distance over the year, beginning as 6 furlongs during the dim days before the metric system. It has been 1400 metres, 1600 metres and the odd 1300 metres (2011 only) and has been 1200 metres from 2016 onwards.

While at first glance the Manfred Stakes seems a minor race, in 1972, 1973 and 1976, it was run in divisions.

Race Venue

The race has always been held at Caulfield Racecourse, with the exception of 1996, 2011 and 2015, when it shifted to Sandown Racecourse while Caulfield was being spruced.

Caulfield Racecourse stages meetings about 20 times per year, with Group races in the spring and autumn.

The Caulfield Cup is the most prestigious race held at the course and could be said to be one of the top three or five races staged in Australia, depending on which criteria are selected.

Racing History of the Manfred Stakes

As the Australian Thoroughbred racing calendar currently stands, the Manfred Stakes is the first Group race for three-year-olds in the calendar year.

As a sprinter’s trip for three-year-olds, it might serve as a guide for the better races ahead during the autumn campaigns. Most horses, the better types that is, are running the Manfred Stakes first up after a winter spell.

Super Seth was the winner in 2020. He won the Manfred Stakes following a win in the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas. He never won after taking the Manfred Stakes. He ran a close second to Streets Of Avalon next time out in the Group 1 Futurity Stakes, but three unplaced finishes saw his career come to a close, to take a job as a stud for Waikato Stud in New Zealand.

As an age restricted race, the Manfred Stakes does not have a repeat winner, obviously, but the list of previous winners is notable for its lack of any truly significant winning horses.

One exception is 2005 Manfred Stakes winner Niconero. will

He made 55 jumps for 13 wins and 10 placings and in the process earned almost $3.5 million. He won Group 1 races in Western Australia and the Group 1 Futurity Stakes subsequent to running second in the C F Orr Stakes in 2008.

Niconero won the Futurity Stakes again in 2009 at Caulfield at backed that win with a win in the Group 1 Australian Cup at Flemington. He did a couple of overseas stints, racing in Dubai and Hong Kong.

One other worth mentioning is 2000 winner Freemason.

Freemason won some bigger races and earned about $3.5 million. His claim to fame, though, was winning the 2003 Group 1 BMW Stakes, where he beat the champion Northerly.

After mentioning Freemason, it is only fair to bring up Haradasun, which won the race in 2007 and also won at Group 1 level, including the Doncaster Handicap and the George Ryder Stakes in 2007, after which he traveled to England to win the Queen Anne Stakes in 2008.


The Manfred Stakes is a race worth watching to gain some insight over which three-year-olds show promise.

Several winners have gone on to win bigger races, but even those Manfred Stakes winners that remained obscure frequently had productive careers, including high finishes in high level races.

YearMRC Manfred Stakes Winner
2021Portland Sky
2020Super Seth
2019Tin Hat
2018Cliff's Edge
2017Legless Veuve
2014Bull Point
2013Royal Haunt
2011Enjin Number Nine
2006Thin And Crispy
2004Keep The Faith
2002Don Eduardo
2001Academy Dancer
1999Market Price
1998Prince Standaan
1996Eureka Jewel
1992Dark Ksar
1989Painted Ocean
1988Century Judge
1985Noble Peer
1984Pride Of Kellina
1983To The Wind
1982Getting Closer
1981Real Force
1980Polo Player
1977Super Scope
1976Silver Shaft
1974Bush Win
1973Flying Gem
1973Gala Supreme
1970Long Brandy
1969Gay Bachelor

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers