How Now StakesWinners, Past Results & Latest News

How Now Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the How Now Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the How Now Stakes

The How Now Stakes is a Group 3 race hosted by the Melbourne Racing Club.

The event is exclusively for mares four year old and upwards and is held annually at Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne during the spring racing carnival in mid-September.

The race is held under set weight plus penalty conditions where horses travel over a distance of 1200 metres for a shot at prize money worth $150,000. The Sportingbet Sprint Series- Heat 2 Stakes is the other name by which the How Now Stakes is also known. The other Group 1 races such as Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and Underwood Stakes, and the Group 3 Naturalism Stakes and Thousand Guineas Prelude are also held on the same day as the How Now Stakes. The race usually favours above average horses that can take advantage of the set weight conditions.

How Now Stakes is a comparatively new event in the Australian thoroughbred racing calendar. The first title was won by Snippet's Lass in 1999. Between 1999 and 2004, this event was classified as a Listed Race and earned a Group 3 status in 2005.

Over the years the How Now Stakes was held under several different names which include the VATC Cranbourne Daihatsu Stakes, VATC Dairy Farmer's Milk Stakes, MRC Dubai Convention Bureau Stakes, the MRC Emirates Racing Association Stakes, and the MRC Dubai International Stakes, Since 2006, it has been held as the MRC How Now Stakes.

The Group 2 Lets Elope Stakes held at Flemington Racecourse over 1400 metres and the Group 3 Cockram Stakes held at the Caulfield track under similar conditions serve as lead up events for the How Now Stakes. Top sprinters in the event may continue their journey to the next level in the Group 2 Rose Of Kingston Stakes held over an extended distance of 1400 metres in October. Others may tackle the Group 3 Champagne Stakes at Moonee Valley.

Winner in 2011, Sister Madly went on to finish runner's up in the Group 1 Manikato Stakes over the same distance at Moonee Valley, followed by another second spot in the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes at Caulfield and a victory in the Group 2 Salinger Stakes at Flemington in October. Runner up, Valentine Miss, went on to finish sixth in the Sportingbet Series Final. Third placed Lone Rock, won the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality at Flemington before making an entry in the How Now Stakes.

Year How Now Stakes Winners
2020 Felicia
2019 Manicure
2018 Winter Bride
2017 Savanna Amour
2016 Secret Agenda
2015 Politeness
2014 Girl Guide
2013 Catkins
2012 Detours
2011 Sister Madly
2010 Valentine Miss
2009 Velocitea
2008 Vivacious Spirit
2007 Miss Judgement
2006 Queen Of The Hill
2005 Sarah Michelle
2004 Strikeline
2003 Lovely Jubly
2002 Taimana
2001 Miss Power Bird
2000 Piavonic
1999 Snippets' Lass

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers