BRC Sprint Winners, Past Results & Latest News

BRC Sprint run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the BRC Sprint

Winners and Past Results of the BRC Sprint.

The BRC Sprint, hosted by the Brisbane Racing Club is a Group 3 Quality Handicap for three year old horses.

The 1350 meter race is hotly contested on the Doomben Racecourse in Brisbane where the winners take home a tidy purse of $125,000. The race is held on one of biggest days during Brisbane's winter racing carnival, the day of the Group 1 Doomben Cup, who many horses and their connections may eye the next year round.

The BRC Sprint attracts a classy field of sprinters. The event was earlier known as the BTC Sprint until the formation of the Brisbane Racing Club in 2009 after the merger of the Queensland Turf Club and Brisbane Turf Club.

Horses that are improving significantly in form are likely favourites in the BRC Sprint who sneak in with a lighter weight to beat the handicapper. For many horses and punters alike, the race is the perfect lead up to the Group 1 Doomben 10,000, a weight for age race held over the same distance of 1350 meters the following week. However, the only horse to score a double in recent times is Chief De Beers, the 1998 champion who moved on to win the Doomben 10,000 after lifting the BRC Sprint.

Some of the classy sprinters set their eyes on the Group 2 QTC Cup held at Eagle Farm Racecourse in June on Oaks Day. Leading up to the BRC Sprint is the Group 2 Sir Byrne Hart Stakes, a 1200 meter race held at Eagle Farm. The race is a noteworthy for punters looking to make amends in the BRC Sprint.

The 2011 BRC Sprint winner, Woorim, ran fifth in the 1200 meter Sir Byrne Hart Stakes before winning the BRC Sprint after coming from behind to score by half a neck from Listen Son. The Rob Heathcoate trained sprinter, went on to set a new weight-carrying record of 58.5 kg in the $175,000 Listed Glasshouse at Caloundra and also became the first horse to back to back victories.

Later Woorim also won a 1200 meter handicap at Moonee Valley Racecourse and came back again after a being unplaced in three races to win the Group Three Stakes.

Catering King holds the distinction of being the first winner of the BRC Sprint in 1987. Tiny's Finto scored back to back victories in 1990-91 and was followed by Pleasure Giver in 1999-2000. Other notable horses to win the BRC Sprint include Careal Boy in 2002, True Glo in 2004, and Court Command in 2009.

Year BRC Sprint Winners
2020 Tambo's Mate
2019 Tyzone
2018 I'm A Rippa
2017 Jungle Edge
2016 Snippets Land
2015  Charlie Boy
2014 River Lad
2013 Belltone
2012 Tiger Tees
2011 Woorim
2010 Beaded
2009 Court Command
2008 Helideck
2007 Friday Creek
2006 Hard To Catch
2005 Ballet Society
2004 True Glo
2003 Emission
2002 Carael Boy
2001 Zariz
2000 Pleasure Giver
1999 Pleasure Giver
1998 Chief De Beers
1997 Poetic King
1996 Taos
1995 Cohort
1994 Simonstad
1993 Kenfair
1992 Barrosa Boy
1991 Tiny's Finito
1990 Tiny's Finito
1989 Count Henri
1988 Lots Of Rule
1987 Catering King
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers