Chelmsford Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Chelmsford Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Chelmsford Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Chelmsford Stakes.

The Chelmsford Stakes is a Group 2 race for three year olds and over held at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney in early September. 

Hosted by the Australian Turf Club, the race is run at weight for age over 1600 meters. Successful milers take home a purse worth $250,000.

The Chelmsford Stakes kicks off the first race under weight for age conditions for the season. Other feature races held on the day are the 1400 meter Group 2 Furious Stakes, Concorde Stakes, and the Group 3 Tramway Quality Handicap also run over 1400 meters. Punters can turn their attention to the Group 2 Warwick Stakes held at Warwick Farm Racecourse earlier for good leads for the Chelmsford Stakes run over 1400 meters under similar conditions.

Horses that prove their ability to clock a faster mile may fancy their chances in the Group 1 George Main Stakes over the same distance during the Randwick carnival, three weeks later. Some of the stronger milers may also try their luck in the Group 2 Hill Stakes.

The 2011 winner of the Chelmsford Stakes, Trusting, won the Hill Stakes. Prior to winning the Chelmsford, he was placed fifth in the Warwick Stakes after returning from a spell. Several gallopers have scored back to back victories which include Prince Foote way back in 1909-10, followed by Duke Foote in 1912-13, Limerick in 1927-28, Rogilla in 1933-34, Kingston Town in 1980-81, Stargazer in 1990-91, Lonhro in 2002-03, to name a few.

The mighty Phar Lap also lapped up the Chelmsford Stakes in 1930 while the outstanding Bernborough also added the Stakes to his tally in 1946. Limerick, Delta, and Roman Consul are triple title holders over the races rich history.

Trainers that bring their horses under the starter's orders in the Chelmsford Stakes have high expectations of making it to Group 1 races in spring. In 2011, the race was held at Warwick Farm due to renovations of the Queen Elizabeth grandstand at Randwick.

Statistics indicate that the Group 2 Warwick Stakes is the best lead up race with 10 winners having scored a Warwick Stakes / Chelmsford Stakes double. The Hawkes family have the distinction of saddling the most number of Chelmsford Stakes winners.

In 1923, Heroic broke the Australian record for nine furlongs in the Chelmsford Stakes, which remained a principal race until 1979.

Year Chelmsford Stakes Winners
2020 Mister Sea Wolf
2019 Samadoubt
2018 Unforgotten
2017 Winx
2016 Hartnell
2015 Complacent
2014 Hawkspur
2013 Hawkspur
2012 Danleigh
2011 Trusting
2010 Theseo
2009 O'Lonhro
2008 Gallant Tess
2007 not held
2006 Eremein
2005 Nevis
2004 Unearthly
2003 Lonhro
2002 Lonhro
2001 Brave Prince
2000 Pasta Express
1999 Intergaze
1998 Might And Power
1997 Juggler
1996 Filante
1995 Oppressor
1994 March Hare
1993 Soho Square
1992 Dr. Grace
1991 Stargazer
1990 Stargazer
1989 High Regard
1988 Sky Chase
1987 Campaign King
1986 Shankhill Lass
1985 Lord Of Camelot
1984 Hayai
1983 Emancipation
1982 Rare Form
1981 Kingston Town
1980 Kingston Town
1979 Mighty Kingdo
1978 Ming Dynasty
1977 Flirting Prince
1976 Purple Patch
1975 Leica Lover
1974 Passetreul
1973 Longfella
1972 Turbino
1971 Tails
1970 Gunsynd
1969 Roman Consul
1968 Roman Consul
1967 Roman Consul
1966 Trevors
1965 Pyramus
1964 Summer Fair
1963 Maidenhead
1962 Burgos
1961 Sharply
1960 Tulloch
1959 Pique
1958 Prince Darius
1957 Prince Darius
1956 Advocate
1955 Electro
1954 Prince Cortauld
1953 Royal Stream
1952 Delta
1951 Delta
1950 Delta
1949 Columnist
1948 Bernbrook
1947 Proctor
1946 Bernborough
1945 Sleepy Fox
1944 Veiled Threat
1943 Tribal
1942 Rimveil
1941 Beau Vite
1940 Beaulivre
1939 Defaulter
1938 Royal Chief
1937 Mala
1936 Gold Rod
1935 Sylvandale
1934 Rogilla
1933 Rogilla
1932 Gaine Carrington
1931 Ammon Ra
1930 Phar Lap
1929 Mollison
1928 Limerick
1927 Limerick
1926 Limerick
1925 Windbag
1924 Heroic
1923 Rapine
1922 Beauford
1921 Syce Knight
1920 Chrysolaus
1919 Richmond Main
1918 Gloaming
1917 Prince Viridis
1916 Sasanof
1915 Garlin
1914 Woorak
1913 Duke Foote
1912 Duke Foote
1911 Los Angelos
1910 Prince Foote
1909 Prince Foote
1908 Perkeo
1907 Mountain King
1906 Solution
1905 Marvel Loch
1904 Warroo
1903 Duke Of Grafton
1902 Abundance
1901 Sir Leonard
1900 Dandy
1899 The Chief
1898 The Chief 3
1897 Amberite
1896 Hopscotch
1895 Newman
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers