Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Canonbury Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Canonbury Stakes run at the Warwick Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Canonbury Stakes

The Group 3 Canonbury Stakes is a sprint race, currently 1100 metres, for two-year-old colts and geldings that is currently run in late January or early February under the auspices of the Australian Turf Club. 

It was run at  Randwick in 2020 and is supposedly going to go to Rosehill in 2021 and beyond. 

It offers $160,000 in prize money and is run under set weight plus penalty conditions.

It is run alongside the Widden Stakes, which is the same race except restricted to fillies. 

That same  Rosehill meeting also offers the Group 2 Expressway Stakes.

2023 Canonbury Stakes Race Details

Date Of The Canonbury Stakes: 28/1/23

Venue For The Canonbury Stakes: Rosehill Racecourse

Time Of The Canonbury Stakes: TBA

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Canonbury Stakes: Ladbrokes

History of the Canonbury Stakes

The race was first run in 1930. The name is derived from a house built in 1911 in nearby Darling Point. The Australian Jockey Club bought the property in 1919 and put it to use as a convalescent facility for Australian servicemen returning from the First World War

From its first running in 1930 until 2007, the race was open to horses of either gender, but it was not held in 2007 due to the equine influenza outbreak that sorely influenced Sydney Thoroughbred racing. 

The Canonbury Stakes also skipped the year 1942 due to World War II.

It was run in divisions in 1958 and1974.

The Canonbury Stakes has shifted trips several times over the course of its history, but only by 100 metres, or as they would have said back before metrification, half a furlong.

It was 1000 metres from 1973 through 2003, went to 1100 metres for three editions from 2004 – 2006, went back to 1000 m for 2008 and has been 1100 metres from 2009.

The race was originally classified as a Principal race, moved to Listed status in 1979 and was lifted to Group 3 in 2015.

Race Venue for the Canonbury Stakes

It would appear that the event has found a permanent home at Rosehill, which is located about 20 kilometres northwest of Sydney CBD, in an area often referred to as Greater Western Sydney.

One nifty feature of Rosehill is the non-symmetrically shaped oval that features both broad, sweeping turns, and tighter turns. 

Racing History of the Canonbury Stakes

The Canonbury Stakes serves as a lead up for the more prestigious juvenile events that come later in the season. 

Few of the winners, however, accomplished much beyond winning the race. 

The 2020 winner was Prague. Prague won his first race at Canterbury Racecourse in January of 2020 and immediately backed with the Canonbury win. After finishing sixth in the Group 2 Skyline, he won the Group 3 Pago Pago, and then made a strong case for his future with a second to Farnan in the Group 1 Sires Produce at Randwick. He has not won since. 

Vancouver won the race in 2015, and then went on to win the Golden Slipper Stakes. 

The first significant horse we see in the winners’ circle was Sebring in 2008. Sebring won the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes and the Group 1 AJC  Sires Produce Stakes and came within a nose of winning the Group 1 Champagne Stakes that went to Samantha Miss. His true potential was never known, as he died sometime after a Randwick trial in 2009.

Not A Single Doubt was the 2003 winner. He was retired in 2005 after winning the Group 3 Zeditave Stakes. He stood at Arrowfield Stud up until 2020, when he was retired due to pulmonary disease. His biggest contribution was as a stallion that sired 70 stakes winners, including 14 Group 1 race victories. Some of his notable progeny include Farnan, Shout The Bar, Extreme Choice, Single Gaze and Scales Of Justice. 

Shogun Lodge won in 1998 in his very first race. He would win 12 more times. His first Group 1 win was the 1999 George Main Stakes, and then the Group 1 Epson Handicap in 2000. His biggest win might have been the Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

From Shogun Lodge, we travel back all the way to find Fine And Dandy winning in 1958. He filled the Canonbury/Golden Slipper double and won 13 other races and he placed 14 times from 45 starts. 

Far and away the most notable winner was 1956’s Tulloch. Among a slew of major races, he won the Cox Plate in 1960 and the Caulfield Cup in 1957, during a year when, judging by the number of big races he won, he must have been two, possibly three horses. 

Tulloch’s 1960 Cox Plate win came after missing almost two years of racing due to a near-fatal stomach virus. He ran second in that year’s Sydney Cup and managed a seventh in the Melbourne Cup. 


Juvenile races are always a challenge for everyone, from horse, to jockey, to strapper, to trainer and especially to bookies and punters. 

The Canonbury Stakes is important in that it give everyone a good glance at the new crop of colts, some of which enjoy great racing careers and some of which show enough promise to be taken from the track and put to work in the sheds.

YearCanonbury Stakes Winners
2022Best Of Bordeaux
2014Fighting Sun
2013Never Can Tell
2011Diamond To Pegasus
2007not held
2006Danehill Smile
2005Diego Garcia
2004Bradbury's Luck (AUS) 2002
2003Not A Single Doubt
1998Shogun Lodge

The Oscars

1993Dapper Magic
1991Knight's Tale
1989White Crest
1988Silver Appeal
1987Iga Ninja
1986Mardi Gras
1985The Barossa
1983Kingston Jamaica
1982Been There
1981Golconda D'Or
1980Young Willie
1977Just A Steal
1976Flirting Prince
1974Dizzy Spell
1972Jolly Peter
1969Prince O'Jazz
1968Star Rise
1965Later On
1963Son Of Tod
1962Time And Tide
1961Bogan Road
1960Pan Shah
1958Fine And Dandy
1955My Kingdom
1953Indian Empire
1952Grand Vite
1951Royal Eagle
1948Aqua Regis
1946Deep Sea
1942not held
1938Rival Chief
1935Law King
1934Golden Promise
1930Lightning March

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Place a TOTE win bet on Races 1-6 at 3 Tracks, run 2nd or 3rd, get up to $50 back in Bonus Bets!
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. First Tote win bet placed online. See promotions page for full T&C ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers