ATC Australian Oaks Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Australian Oaks run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Australian Oaks

Winners and Past Results for the Australian Oaks.

The ATC Australian Oaks is contested over a distance of 2400 metres and is held annually each April at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney.

The Australian Oaks hosted by the Australian Turf Club in Sydney attracts the best three-year-old fillies.

The race is run under set weight conditions over a distance of 2400 meters.

Held during the Sydney autumn racing carnival towards the end of April, the AJC Oaks offers prize money worth $1,000,000.

The Group 1 Sydney Cup, the Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Group One Queen Of The Turf Stakes are three of the major events also held on the same day.

The Australian Oaks is a premier staying race and is one of the toughest with quality fillies entering the fray from feature races like the Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes held earlier at Rosehill Racecourse or the Group 2 Adrian Knox Stakes held a week earlier at Randwick.

All fillies in the AJC Oaks carry a set-weight of 56 kilograms, favouring the cream of the crop. Many winners move on to become broodmares at the end of their racing career, which just goes to show the quality of fillies that compete in the blue ribbon event.

Classy fillies that also became outstanding broodmares include Research the 1989 winner of the AJC Oaks, Triscay in 1991, and Grand Archway in 1999.

The AJC Oaks began as a principal race in 1885 with Uralla recorded as the inaugural winner. Between 1922 and 1945 the race was held in January and run over 1600 meters. The distance kept changing between 8 and 12 furlongs and is now a 2400 meter race since 1973.

The AJC Oaks achieved its Group 1 status in 1980. The fastest filly on the tracks during the AJC Oaks until today is the 2006 winner, Serenade Rose who recorded a time of 2:28.6 seconds. Among notable stayers to claim victory include Flight in 1944, Evening Peal in 1956, Leilani in 1974, Grand Archway in 1999, and Sunday Joy in 2003.

The AJC Oaks was formerly known as the Adrian Knox Stakes until 1956. Over the past two decades only 5 favourites have obliged with Serenade Road being the last in 2006. Jockey Glen Boss has won the AJC Oaks three times steering Serenade Rose, Republic Lass, and Danendri to victory.

Year Australian Oaks Winners
2020 Colette
2019 Verry Elleegant
2018 Unforgotten
2017 Bonneval
2016 Sofia Rosa
2015 Gust Of Wind 
2014 Rising Romance
2013 Royal Descent
2012 Streama
2011 Absolutely
2010 Once Were Wild
2009 Daffodil
2008 Zarita
2007 Rena's Lady
2006 Serenade Rose
2005 Dizelle
2004 Wild Iris
2003 Sunday Joy
2002 Republic Lass
2001 Rose Archway
2000 Coco Cobanna
1999 Grand Archway
1998 On Air
1997 Danendri
1996 Kenbelle
1995 Circles Of Gold
1994 Alcove
1993 Mahaya
1992 My Brilliant Star
1991 Triscay
1990 Domino
1989 Research
1988 Savana City
1987 Bounding Away
1986 Just Now
1985 Our Sophia
1984 La Souvronne
1983 Starzaan
1982 Sheraco
1981 November Rain
1980 Lowan Star
1979 Valley Of Georgia
1978 Invade
1977 Surround
1976 How Now
1975 Sufficient
1974 Leilani
1973 Analie
1972 Gossiper
1971 Waikiki
1970 Gay Poss
1969 Flying Fable
1968 Lowland
1967 Farmer's Daughter
1966 Dual Quest
1965 Light Fingers
1964 Jane Hero
1963 Arctic Star
1962 Indian Summer
1961 Wenona Girl
1960 Pique
1959 Chicola
1958 Gay Satin
1957 Sandara
1956 Evening Peal
1955 Sabah
1954 Edelweiss
1953 Waterlady
1952 Wayside Bloom
1951 True Course
1950 Elusive
1949 Persist
1948 Jalna
1947 Sweet Chime
1946 Rose Bay
1945 Ribbon
1944 Flight
1943 Flying Shuttle
1942 Whisper Low
1941 Session
1940 Climax
1939 Early Bird
1938 Sweet Myra
1937 Sal Volatile
1936 Cereza
1935 Limyris
1934 Leila Vale
1933 Roman Spear
1932 Gallantic
1931 Tantrum
1930 Gay Ballerina
1929 Loquacious
1928 Justify
1927 Persuasion
1926 Valicare
1925 Meenah
1924 Valdoona
1923 All Wheat
1922 Vodka
1894 Acmena
1893 Bessie Macarthy
1892 Trieste
1891 Corvette
1890 Prelude
1889 Spice
1888 Pearlshell
1887 Lava
1886 Tamarisk
1885 Uralla
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers