Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

Spring Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Spring Stakes run at Morphettville Racecourse. All the past winners of the Spring Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Spring Stakes.

Hosted by the South Australian Jockey Club, the Spring Stakes is a Group 3 weight for age race held at Morphettville Racecourse in August. The 1200 metre event offers prize money worth $120,000.

The event is the first among weight for age group races in the season with a mixed field of local and interstate horses in search of a good start for the forthcoming spring carnival. Level weights prove to be an advantage for in-form horses that may make their way to the Spring Stakes via the Group 3 RN Irwin Stakes held at the same track over 1100 metres in March.

The race is also a platform for stronger sprinters looking to excel in mile races over the season, which includes the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes at Flemington in September. The race has a fitting name even though it is still run during the winter carnival, where the racing fraternity have much to look forward to during the spring racing carnival.

Eastern Court won the first Spring Stakes as a principal race in 1970. It was recognised as a Group 2 race in 1979 but has been a Group 3 event since 1998. Samist won the Spring Stakes on two consecutive occasions in 1974-75 while Redelva repeated the feat thrice.

Hero Wind scored back to back wins in 1994-95 and came back in 1997 once more. 2010 winner, Rebel Raider, although plagued by injuries throughout his career is among the successful horses to claim two derbies and was an early 2009 Melbourne Cup favourite although an injury later kept him away from competing.

The 1200 M Group 3 How Now Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse may be next on the card for horses that compete in the Spring Stakes. After finishing third in the 2011 Spring Stakes, Valentine Miss was runner up at Caulfield. Other follow races include the Group 3 Hong Kong Jockey Club Stakes over 1200 metres at Flemington and the Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes over an extended distance of 1400 metres at Caulfield in September although these events may not have been a handy form guide in recent times.

Handy gallopers to lift the Spring Stakes over the years include Black Rouge in 1992, Staaraq in 1996 and Flavour in 2001 while Super Elegant and El Maze also claimed the prize in 2005 and 2008 respectively.

YearSpring Stakes Winners
2018Dollar For Dollar
2017Mio Dio
2015Red Eclipse
2013Just Discreet
2012Happy Trails
2010Rebel Raider
2009Midnight Mustang
2008El Maze
2006Royal Ida
2005Super Elegant
2004Sky Cuddle
2002Strategic Image
2000Spice Doll
1999Star Joe
1998Will Fly
1997Hero Wind
1995Hero Wind
1994Hero Wind
1992Black Rouge
1991Beau George
1987Change Of Habit
1986Romantic Red
1984Gold Kildare
1982Oriental Ruler
1980Rumpus Room
1979Court Sabre
1978Pelican Point
1976Classic Conquest
1972High Gypsy
1971Romantic Son
1970Eastern Court

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers