SAJC Breeders Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Breeders Stakes run at Morphettville Racecourse. All the past winners of the Breeders Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Breeders Stakes.

Two year old horses take to the field in the Group 3 SA Breeders Stakes hosted by the South Australian Jockey Club at Morphettville Racecourse during the autumn racing carnival in Adelaide.

The 1200 metre race is held usually at the end of March and run under set weight conditions.

The first horse to cross the finish line in the Breeders Stakes makes its connections richer by $120,000.

The Breeders Stakes heralds the start of group races during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival and often attracts local sprinters rather than top liners. Set weights favour in-form two year old sprinters that have their eye on major sprint and middle distance events over the rest of the year.

Young horses may come in from a number of maiden handicap and listed races on the Adelaide racing circuit. The Listed Talindert Stakes over 1100 metres at Flemington is one of the likely lead up races. Rockshaft won a maiden event at Wodonga over 1100 metres prior to winning 2011 SA Breeders Stakes. Rescue Mission ran fourth in the Talindert Stakes prior to finishing third here while runner up Redangelo was unplaced in the same race.

Top performing two year olds may fancy their chances in the Group 2 SA Sires Produce Stakes over a mile at the Morphettville track in April and the 1200 M Group 3 The Jansz (National Stakes) also at the same track in May. Fillies may also head for the 1200 M Group 2 Reisling Stakes at the Rosehill track in March. Runner up in 2010, Yosei, went on to place third in the Sires Produce Stakes at Flemington and followed it up with a fourth place in the Reisling Stakes. Later in April she won the Group 1 Inglis Sires Produce Stakes over 1400 metres at Randwick.

A number of promising youngsters have made their way through the SA Breeders Stakes as winners or placegetters. Among the latest is Augusta Proud, the 2006 SA Breeders Stakes winner who later won the Magic Millions for two year olds at the Gold Coast and also placed well in other group races.

The SA Breeders Stakes was first run as a principal race in 1955 with Eminent Star recorded as the first winner. Notable horses to win the event in earlier times include Pago Pago , Tobin Bronze, and Storm Queen to name a few. The SAJC granted the Breeders Stakes Group 2 status in 1979. However, it was downgraded to Group 3 in 2006.

Year Breeders Stakes Winners
2020 Ecumenical
2019 Kooweerup
2018 Tequila Time
2017 Broadband
2016 Tris
2015 Last Bullet 
2014 London Lolly
2013 Excites Zelady
2012 Big Chill
2011 Rockshaft
2010 Shrapnel
2009 Colour
2008 Augusta Proud
2007 Murjana
2006 De Lago Mist
2005 Freestyle
2004 Deprivation
2003 Syrinx
2002 Great Glen
2001 Pelt
2000 Happy Morning
1999 Ruthless Tycoon
1998 Astralita
1997 Gold Guru
1996 Zeya
1995 Padre
1994 Blevic
1993 Laubali
1992 Credit Account
1991 Jakpil
1990 Berberia
1989 Golden Prayer
1988 Sovereign Lady
1987 Exploding Wonder
1986 Military Plume
1985 New Atlantis
1984 Lockley's Tradition
1983 Coral Queen
1982 Lady Neelia
1981 Neptune Princess
1980 Outward Bound
1979 Runaway Kid
1978 Pacifica
1977 Red Cat
1976 Out Of Danger
1975 Aconite
1974 Girl Wonder
1973 Fill The Cellar
1972 Colambre
1971 Big Sioux
1970 Regal Heir
1969 Morning Joy
1968 Lady Freux
1967 Manihi
1966 Storm Queen
1965 Tobin Bronze
1964 Lady Pompilia
1963 Pago Pago
1962 Leica Lot
1961 Heir Apparent
1960 Jet Beau
1959 Happy Smile
1958 Resenda
1957 Mapleson
1956 Alstarr
1955 Eminent Star
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers