Newcastle Cameron Handicap Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Newcastle Cameron Handicap run at the Newcastle Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Newcastle Cameron Handicap hosted by the Newcastle Jockey Club

Winners and Past Results of the Newcastle Cameron Handicap.

The Newcastle Cameron Handicap, hosted by the Newcastle Jockey Club annually at the Newcastle Racecourse in Newcastle, NSW, is a Group 3 open race run over a distance of 1500 meters.

The event is scheduled mid-week in September during the spring racing carnival with $150,000 up for grabs for the winners.

Other races of the day include the Group 3 Newcastle Spring Stakes. Earlier, horses travelled a distance of 1300 meters until 2010 when it was increased by 100 meters and finally became a 1500 meter race in 2011. The 1400 meter Theo Marks Stakes held a week earlier at the Rosehill Racecourse may prove to be a form guide for the Cameron Handicap while some horses move on to the Group 3 Newcastle Gold Cup held on the following Thursday. Winners and place getters may tackle the Group 3 Bill Ritchie Handicap later during the Sydney carnival.

The feature sprint race of the year attracts an elite class of local gallopers along with other in form horses who make the trip from Sydney in a bid to make a mark in Group races.

McClintock ran third in the Newcastle Cameron Handicap in 2009 and continued his form in his next start to win the Bill Ritchie Handicap. Oscar Warrior claimed a Cameron Handicap-Bill Ritchie Handicap in 2004.

The Newcastle Cameron Handicap has a rich history with the first race held in 1935.

Initially a principal race, it became a listed race in 1979 and achieved Group 3 status in 2005. Homeleigh Dick has the distinction of winning three titles in 1946, 1947, and made a comeback in 1949. Without Reproach scored back to back victories in 1969-70 while other notable horses to win the Cameron Handicap recently include Kingsgate in 2001, Collate in 2005, Raheeb in 2008, Kenny's World in 2010, and Raspberries in 2011.

Trained by Peter Snowden, Raspberries is from Sheikh Mohammed's Darley Study was steered by jockey Kevin McEvoy to win by a head from Light Brigade.

Raspberries headed for the Cameron Handicap after winning a 1500 meter BM90 at Rosehill at the end of August. Later in October, he was placed 13th in the Epsom Handicap.

Horses run in a clockwise direction on the flat Newcastle race track located 200 km north of Sydney.

Year Newcastle Cameron Handicap Winners
2020 Rock
2019 Rock
2018 New Tipperary
2017 Got Unders
2016 Chetwood
2015 Forget
2014 Hooked
2013 Toydini
2012 Rolling Pin
2011 Raspberries
2010 Kenny's World
2009 Absolutelyfabulous
2008 Raheeb
2007 not held
2006 Court's In Session
2005 Collate
2004 Osca Warrior
2003 Archave
2002 Excellerator
2001 Kingsgate
2000 Mulan Princess
1999 Anthems
1998 Adam
1997 Crows Before Dawn
1996 Cohort
1995 Yarradorf
1994 Social Rule
1993 Flitter
1992 Brihuego
1991 Quick Score
1990 Cheval Cavalier
1989 Don't Play
1988 Windsor's Pal
1987 Full Page
1986 Sound Of Bells
1985 Regal Value
1984 Almerzo
1983 Tandrio
1982 Manuan
1981 Paradise Plumes
1980 Captain Cadet
1979 Romantic Dream
1978 Manawapoi
1977 Luskin Star
1976 Romantic Dream
1975 Hartshill
1974 Americano
1973 Drifted In
1972 Ochre
1971 Sun Opal
1970 Without Reproach
1969 Without Reproach
1968 Baguse
1967 Mclauchlin
1966 Flotsam
1965 Cool
1964 Pardon Me
1963 Glorious Kingdom
1962 Rush Bye
1961 Martello Towers
1960 Saydor
1959 Cornelius
1958 On Parade
1957 Chieti
1956 English Standard
1955 Compound
1954 Bronze Peak
1953 San Domenico
1952 Bankbrook
1951 Pullson
1950 Denali
1949 Homeleigh Dick
1948 Melgoda
1947 Homeleigh Dick
1946 Homeleigh Dick
1945 Bragger
1944 Abbeville
1943 Young Valais
1942 Fermanagh
1941 Return Ticket
1940 Rathlin
1939 Red Thespian
1938 Perimond
1937 Bundar
1936 not held
1935 Dermid
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Great Odds
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers